了解獲得加拿大移民資格所需的條件,並開始通往加拿大的途徑

Contact Us

加拿大愛德華王子島省提名計劃(PEIPNP)概覽

愛德華王子島省提名計劃(PEIPNP)最早於2001年推出,是加拿大其中一項經濟類移民計劃,其中商業工作許可類別適用於企業擁有者或管理層,並希望移居到加拿大愛德華王子島省、開展業務的外國人士。成功的申請人在獲得工作許可後,即可移居至加拿大愛德華王子島省工作,日後只需在業務上滿足指定要求及目標,便可獲政府批出加拿大的永久居留權。

為什麼要移民到加拿大愛德華王子島省?

加拿大愛德華王子島省的移民投資門檻、語言等要求比其他加拿大省份較低,加拿大聯邦政府更賦予愛德華王子島省獨立甄選權,讓其透過省政府提名計劃(Provincial Nominee Program)提名符合要求的申請人成為加拿大永久居民,而申請人和配偶則必須在當地開創企業。當地政府會按照申請人的分數作篩選,考慮條件包括申請人及配偶的英語能力、年齡、學歷、營商及管理經驗等等。

加拿大愛德華王子島省概況

愛德華王子島省(Prince Edward Island、簡稱 P.E.I. / 王子島)是加拿大東部海洋三省之一,位於東海岸的聖勞倫斯海灣,四面臨海,環境優美。雖然是全國面積最小的省份,但人口密度卻是全國最高。主要城市為夏洛特城(Charlotte Town)。愛德華王子島省四季分明,夏季平均氣溫約20至30℃,冬季平均氣溫約-11至-3℃。主要經濟以農業和漁業為主,由於當地沒有工業污染,因此漁業相當興旺,盛產龍蝦、蠔、吞拿魚等等。

愛德華王子島省的永久居民享有免費教育,在公立學校系統中升讀至第12班(Grade 12)時均學費全免。愛德華王子島省的公立小學及中學有兩個校區,提供由幼稚園到第12班(Grade 12)的課程。這兩個校區分別是:由島上56間英語公立學校所組成的英語校區;由法語學校委員會(La Commission Scolaire de Langue Française)管理的六間法語公立學校所組成的法語校區。在這62間公立學校中,有30間提供沉浸式法語課程(French Immersion Programs),適合希望子女透過學習法語在將來獲得更多工作和進修機會的家長。假如家長選擇讓子女在家自學,則要向教育部門表達有關意願並提交教育計劃。

至於大專教育方面,位於夏洛特城的愛德華王子島大學(University of Prince Edward Island)是省內唯一的公立大學。大學提供一系列大學本科、研究生及博士課程與學位,包括獸醫、阿卡迪亞研究(Acadian Studies)、護理、可持續設計工程及教育。儘管課程非免費,愛德華王子島大學是加拿大境內其中一間學費最便宜的大學之一。省內亦有三間大專學院,分別是Holland College、Maritime Christian College 和 Collège de l’Île。

當地居民會獲發一張醫療卡(PEI Health Card),以醫療卡可免費使用由政府資助的醫療服務。醫療卡涵蓋大部分常用的醫療服務,包括主要的內科醫生及院內服務、紓緩治療及精神健康與戒癮治療。

加拿大愛德華王子島省的營商市場概況

愛德華王子島省的農業、漁業和旅遊業發展蓬勃,更是當地的主要經濟命脈,而創新研究和產品發展則是未來經濟的重點,當中包括航天與國防、食品發展、可再生能源、先進海洋科技、信息通訊科技以及金融與商業服務。

此外,根據畢馬威會計師事務所(KPMG)的調查,愛德華王子島省是北美其中一個商業成本最低的地區。便宜的營運成本、低廉的企業及物業稅,加上戰略性基建、高質素的勞動巿場和容易進入主要巿場,打造了島上營商友善的環境。

而省內負責招商的機構 Innovation PEI 則會為企業家提供大量企業支援和資助計劃,以及發展業務、文化和環球貿易的資源,幫助不同企業蓬勃發展。

愛德華王子島省提名計劃商業工作許可類別詳情

優勢概覽

  • 學歷要求較低
  • 申請人進行投資前可透過工作簽證移居往愛德華王子島省,有更多時間安頓生活,並熟悉自己所投資的企業在當地的日常運作,循序漸進地融入當地商業環境
  • 達成績效協議上的條款後,獲提名的申請人可申請永久居留權

 

申請條件

愛德華王子島省政府在 2018 年一月推出全新的愛德華王子島省提名計劃(PEIPNP),而當中的移民意向書(Expression of Interest,EOI)讓當局按評分等級篩選出具有發展潛質和合資格的申請人。

在遞交移民意向書(EOI)前,申請人必須確保自身滿足以下條件:

  • 申請人在遞交 EOI 時須介乎 21 至 59 歲之間
  • 申請人必須擁有至少中學或同等學歷
  • 申請人必須證明最少擁有60萬加幣的可驗證淨資產;最多可將18萬加幣的企業資產計入淨資產額
  • 申請人必須擁有至少五年工作經驗,並在其中三年擔任企業管理角色,具備可轉移的管理技能及/或持有企業的經驗。高級經理必須於在位期間監督至少三名全職員工;企業老闆則必須持有至少20%的擁有權並在日常運營中發揮積極作用
  • 已申請加拿大其他移民計劃人士將不符合資格,申請人需於獲取錄前撤銷其他移民申請

 

投資與營運要求

要獲得永久居留提名,申請人必須滿足績效協議上的條款,包括但不限於以下各項:

  • 申請人在到達愛德華王子島省的12個月內,需在業務上投資至少15萬加幣
  • 申請人的企業必須至少連續營運12個月
  • 申請人必須在愛德華王子島省境內積極地管理業務

 

申請流程

  1. 網上提交移民意向書(EOI)
  2. 當局發出 PEIPNP 申請邀請信
  3. 提交 PEIPNP 申請
  4. 確認通知
  5. PEIPNP 申請處理
  6. 提交 PEIPNP 商業計劃書及進行面試
  7. 簽署業務績效協議
  8. 發出工作許可申領證明文件 (Work Permit Letter of Support) 
  9. 申請工作許可證明
  10. 親身前往愛德華王子島省就工作許可申請進行會面
  11. 於24個月內達到業務績效協議的要求
  12. 獲頒發永久居留權提名證書

加拿大愛德華王子島省提名計劃(PEIPNP)常見問題

1. PEIPNP 有何語言要求?

申請人必須最少達到「加拿大語言標準」(英語為 CLB,法語為 NCLC)的四級或同等成績,相等於 IELTS 的閱讀 3.5、寫作 4.0、聽力 4.5 以及會話 4.0。

 

2. 透過 PEIPNP 申請移民到愛德華王子島省需時多久?

由遞交省提名計劃申請到發出工作許可申請證明大約需時六至八個月,但實際情況亦要視乎現有申請個案有否延遲,以及個別申請人的文件及手續需時而有所不同。

 

3. 我可以在我的 PEIPNP 申請上加入家庭成員嗎?

可以,您可將配偶和直屬子女納入申請。

 

4. 哪些東西不會被納入我的淨資產內?

不獲納入為淨資產的項目包括:贈予和個人貸款、非財產及地產契約的財產證明或合同、配偶和主要申請人以外的共同擁有權、擁有權不足70%的企業資產。

 

5. PEIPNP 有什麼居留要求?

申請人和隨行家人(包括配偶和正值學齡的孩子)必須在經營業務那一年,於當地居住至少274天。所有正於省外的大專機構就讀的直屬子女則不受此限。

Simard & Associates 擁有多年豐富經驗和專業團隊,全力協助我們的客戶實現移民夢想。我們的移民律師和顧問樂意隨時在移民加拿大、美國或其他歐洲國家方面為您解答疑難。如欲了解更多有關愛德華王子島省提名計劃的資訊,歡迎與我們的專業團隊聯絡

 

【延伸閱讀】移民加拿大條件:如何轄免加拿大移民監?加拿大楓葉卡過期點算好?

【延伸閱讀】移民加拿大好嗎?原來唔貴!香港人在加拿大生活費用一覽!

Find out what it takes to be eligible for Canadian immigration and begin your clear path to Canada

Contact Us

Prince Edward Island Provincial Nominee Program (PEIPNP) Overview

The Prince Edward Island Provincial Nominee Program (PEIPNP) is an entrepreneur immigration program in Canada, which was first introduced in 2001. The Business Work Permit stream of PEIPNP targets foreign nationals with business ownership or extensive management experience who would like to immigrate to the Canadian province of Prince Edward Island to start their business and eventually obtain permanent resident status in Canada. Successful applicants must first move to PEI on a work permit before eventually transitioning to permanent residence if certain business-related targets are satisfied.

Why Immigrate to Prince Edward Island?

The PEIPNP has a relatively lower investment and language requirement threshold compared to programs in other Canadian provinces. As a Federal-Provincial partnership between the Province of Prince Edward Island and the Government of Canada, the province was granted rights to set its own immigration selection criteria. Through PNP, the province can nominate qualified candidates to the Citizenship and Immigration Canada of the federal government to become permanent residents of Canada. Candidates must then operate a business in Prince Edward Island along with their applying spouse. They will be assessed for PR eligibility based on their English proficiency, age, education, business operation and management experience and so on.

About Prince Edward Island

Prince Edward Island (PEI) is one of Canada’s three Maritime provinces located off the eastern coast of the country in the Gulf of St. Lawrence. Also known as the Garden of the Gulf, PEI is famous for its gorgeous coastlines and beautiful surroundings. Although Prince Edward Island is the smallest province in Canada, its population density ranks at the top of the country. Charlottetown is the capital city of PEI and is the largest city of the province. With distinct seasons, the average temperature in summer is usually around 20 to 30℃, while winter temperature is typically around -3 to -11℃. The dominant industries of Prince Edward Island are agriculture and fishery. Thanks to the close-to-zero industrial pollution, the province is a shellfish haven abundant in lobsters, oysters, tuna and more.

Permanent residents of Prince Edward Island can enjoy free education up to Grade 12 under the public school system. Prince Edward Island’s elementary and secondary public school system consists of two school districts, offering education from kindergarten to Grade 12. The Public Schools Branch is the Anglophone (English-speaking) school district comprising 56 English public schools across Prince Edward Island, while La Commission scolaire de langue française is the Francophone (French-speaking) school district with 6 public schools. Among the 62 public schools, 30 of them offer French immersion programs, which is a great choice for parents who wish to let their children learn French as a way to welcome potential employment or education opportunities in the future. Parents can also choose to homeschool their children as long as the parents express their intention and submit their education plan to the Department of Education.

As for post-secondary education, University of Prince Edward Island, located in Charlottetown, is the province’s only public university. The university offers a wide range of undergraduate, graduate and doctoral programs and degrees, including Veterinary Medicine, Acadian Studies, Nursing, Sustainable Design Engineering and Education. Although tuition is not free, the university’s tuition fee is also among the cheapest in Canada. The province has three post-secondary institutions: Holland College, Maritime Christian College and Collège de l’Île. 

Residents of Prince Edward Island can have access to publicly-funded healthcare services with a PEI Health Card. The Card covers the cost of most necessary medical services, including a majority of physician and in-hospital services, palliative care, and mental health and addiction services. 

Business Environment in Prince Edward Island

While industries such as agriculture, fishery and tourism are well established in Prince Edward Island and were considered the economic backbone of the province, innovative research and product development are the key focus for the future economy. These sectors include aerospace and defence, food development, renewable energy, advanced marine technology, ICT and finance and business services.

Additionally, Prince Edward Island was ranked as one of the lowest-cost locations for business in North America in the KPMG Competitive Alternative Study. The cheap operating costs, low corporate and property taxes combined with its strategic infrastructure, high-quality labour pool, easy access to major markets add to Prince Edward Island’s business-friendly environment. Innovation PEI, the province’s business attraction unit, offers a plethora of business support, funding programs and resources for business development, cultural development and global trade that entrepreneurs can take advantage of.

Details of PEIPNP Business Work Permit Stream

Advantages of PEIPNP Business Work Permit Stream

  • There is a relatively low education requirement.
  • Applicants can move to Prince Edward Island on a work permit prior to making the investment, giving them time to settle, experience the day-to-day operation of the business they are investing in and gradually integrate into the local business environment.
  • Upon meeting terms and conditions outlined in the Performance Agreement, nominated candidates can apply for permanent residency.

 

Application Requirements

In January 2018, the government of PEI introduced the new PEIPNP where an Expression of Interest (EOI) system enables the government to select better-qualified applicants based on a points-based selection grid.

Applicants must ensure they meet the following requirements prior to submitting an EOI profile for this Prince Edward Island immigration program.

  • Candidates must be at the age of 21 to 59 at the time of the EOI application.
  • Candidates must possess a minimum education of secondary school or equivalent.
  • Candidates must demonstrate a minimum verifiable net worth of CAD 600,000. Only a maximum of CAD 180,000 business assets can be counted towards the total net worth. 
  • Applicants must have a minimum of 3 out of 5 years of management experience with transferable management skills and/or business ownership experience. Senior managers must have supervised at least three full time employees under the position and business owners must have at least 20% ownership and an active role in daily operations in order to be eligible for the program.
  • Applicants that have applied to another Provincial Nominee Program will not qualify for PEIPNP. All applications in processing at a Visa post must be withdrawn before PEI will accept your application.

 

Investment & Business Operation Requirements

PEIPNP candidates must meet the terms and conditions on their Performance Agreement in order to receive nomination for permanent residency. These requirements include, but not limited to, the following:

  • Candidates are required to invest a minimum of CAD 150,000 to the business within 12 months of arriving on Prince Edward Island
  • The business must have operated for a minimum of 12 consecutive months
  • Candidates must actively manage the business from within Prince Edward Island

 

Application Process

  1. Online Expression of Interest (EOI) profile submission
  2. Invitation to Apply issuance
  3. PNP application submission
  4. Notice of Invitation
  5. Application processing by PEIPNP
  6. Interview in PEI and business plan submission to the Office of Immigration
  7. Signing of business Performance Agreement
  8. Work Permit Letter of Support issuance
  9. Work Permit application process
  10. Arrival in PEI – work permit landing meeting with PEIPNP
  11. Satisfying business performance agreement within 24 months
  12. Nomination Certificate issuance

FAQs

1. What is the language requirement of PEIPNP?

Applicants must meet the minimum language proficiency requirement of CLB/NCLC 4 or equivalent (IELTS: Reading 3.5, Writing 4.0, Listening 4.5, Speaking 4.0).

 

2. How long does it take to immigrate to Prince Edward Island via PEIPNP?

Anticipated processing time from PNP application submission to the issuance of Work Permit Letter of Support is approximately 6 to 8 months. However, times may vary depending on both processing delays at PEI and preparation of documents by the applicants.

 

3. Can I include anyone else on my PEIPNP application?

Yes, you may include your spouse and dependent children in the application.

 

4. What is not considered towards my net worth?

Gifts, personal loans, ownership of properties with proofs other than property deeds and titles (i.e. contracts), joint ownership other than spouse and principal applicant, and business assets which the applicants have less than 70% ownership will not be considered towards the applicants’ net worth.

 

5. What is the residency requirement of PEIPNP?

Applicants and their accompanying family members (which includes their spouse and school-aged children) must reside and be physically present in Prince Edward Island for at least 274 days of the year in which they are operating the business with the exception of any dependent child who is attending a post-secondary institution outside of PEI.

Simard & Associates has years of experience and extensive expertise in helping our clients to realize their dreams and aspirations in their chosen destinations. Our team of immigration lawyers and consultants are ready to answer any of your questions about immigration solutions in Canada, the United States and other European countries. Feel free to reach out to our team to learn more about the Prince Edward Island Provincial Nominee Program.

 

Read More: Requirements for Maintaining Permanent Resident Status in Canada

Read More: The Cost of Living in Canada: Facts, Figures and Forecasts