了解獲得加拿大移民資格所需的條件,並開始通往加拿大的途徑

Contact Us

加拿大創業家簽證計劃概覽

加拿大創業家簽證計劃是一項投資移民計劃,目標對象為希望移居至加拿大的創業家。透過此計劃,他們可憑藉私營投資者的支持,在加拿大開拓或發展企業。等待永久居留身份期間,已提交申請的海外創業家可申請臨時工作許可,以便在加拿大設立和營運業務。

加拿大對創業家的優勢

加拿大是最富有和經濟發達的國家之一,對希望遷移外地的創業家而言尤其理想。不論是有利營商的經濟體、高質素的生活、完善的福利架構、先進的教育系統,還是低生活物價等各個方面,都是吸引創業家進駐此地的原因。

另外,創業家亦可以受惠於加拿大政府多年以來透過強大的風險投資渠道,以及各種激勵措施培育的強大的創業生態系統。近年,加拿大的大企業正在不斷地培育創業新力軍和發展不同的創新意念,一些國際學府更允許新興創業家使用和獲取他們的內部資源,加速了這些新興創業家的發展及壯大。政府更透過不同計劃鼓勵創業文化:產業研究協助計劃(IRAP)為創業家取得所需的指導和起動資金;策略創新基金(SIF)則為產業研究、發展和所需的技術提供資金。

稅務優惠、補助金和工資補貼都是加拿大政府推動當地初創企業發展的措施。截至2020年,大城市如多倫多、溫哥華、渥太華、愛民頓和卡爾加里,已因其促進創新的成就,擠身StartupBlink創業生態圈的首100位城市。

加拿大創業家簽證計劃細節

與其他投資移民計劃比較,創業家簽證計劃沒有為申請人的最低資產淨值設限,並容許多位申請人以同一個創業計劃作出簽證申請。比起其他計劃,創業家簽證計劃的申請時間最短,能以最快的速度取得加拿大永久居留權。加上不是省級投資計劃,申請人不會被限制於特定地區,在選擇居所方面自由度較高。

由於加拿大創業家簽證計劃與一些信譽良好的風險投資基金一直都有緊密合作,例如創業投資基金、天使投資者機構和企業孵化器機構。創業家可以藉此獲得額外支持,幫助初創企業起步,同時亦讓創業家在加拿大的過渡期更輕鬆暢順。

 

申請條件 

加拿大創業家簽證申請人必須符合下列條件:

    • 申請人必須滿足企業擁有權要求,持有公司最少10%或以上股份,並承擔積極和持續的管理角色,主要的業務運作亦必須在加拿大境內進行。
    • 申請人必須從指定機構為自己的加拿大初創企業籌集符合當局要求的投資金額。如指定機構為創業投資基金,所需的最低投資金額為$200,000加幣;如申請人與天使投資者機構合作,所需的最低投資金額則為$75,000加幣。
    • 每個機構的申請過程和要求各有不同,但申請人必須從加拿大指定機構取得支持函。作為申請的一部分,申請人和指定機構都需要另外向加拿大移民、難民及公民部(IRCC)呈交信件,整合承諾當中的細節,以便評估。
    • 申請人必須證明自己擁有足夠資金支持自己和家庭成員在加拿大的生活。實際資金證明要求按家庭成員數目而定:個人申請者所需的最低金額為$12,960加幣;二人家庭為$16,135加幣;三人家庭為$19,836加幣;四人家庭為$24,083加幣。若家庭成員人數超過四人,每位額外家庭成員需另加$3,500加幣。需留意的是,這批資金不可由借貸形式取得。
    • 申請人的英文或法文語言能力必須在加拿大語言標準(CLB)達到至少五級或以上,當中包括會話、閱讀、聽力及寫作四部分。
    • 通過加拿大的安全和醫療檢查
    • 提交定居於任何加拿大省份的意向證明(魁北克省除外)

 

申請流程

  1. 從加拿大移民、難民及公民部(IRCC)網頁下載申請表格和文件清單
  2. 準備所需文件和填寫申請表格
  3. 繳付申請費用$1,575加幣及永久居留權申請費(RPRF)$500加幣。隨行伴侶需另付申請費用$825加幣及永久居留權申請費$500加幣。如有需要,亦有可能需要為指模收集、醫療檢查或無犯罪紀錄證明及語言測試等支付額外的第三方費用。
  4. 直接把申請文件郵遞至新斯科舍省的移民、難民及公民部辦公室
  5. 加拿大移民、難民及公民部(IRCC)會聯絡申請人補交其他文件或直接通知面試日期若申請獲批,加拿大移民、難民及公民部(IRCC)會要求申請人提交護照至簽證申請中心,以發出永久居留簽證。整個申請過程需時約12至16個月

常見問題

1) 創業家簽證容許家人隨行嗎?

可以。申請人的配偶、合法伴侶及22歲以下受撫養子女可一同申請加拿大永久居留簽證。

 

2) 隨行家人的工作權利為何?

創業家簽證計劃的申請人可以申請臨時工作許可。獲發後,如配偶或合法伴侶隨行前往加拿大,他們可申請開放式工作簽證。持有有效簽證或工作許可的人士可享有省級醫療保障、子女公立學校教育,並持有駕駛執照。

 

3) 在海外居住能申請嗎?

可以。計劃申請期約為16個月,當中12個月為申請處理,另外4個月為面試等待。申請期間,申請人可在加拿大以外地區逗留。

 

4) 若透過創業家簽證計劃移民加拿大後生意未如理想,對簽證結果會有影響嗎?

創業家簽證計劃與公司表現沒有關連或掛鉤。簽證一但獲批,即使業務未如理想,永久居民身份亦不會受影響。

 

5) 接收來自多於一個指定組織的投資會有影響嗎?

如獲得多個指定投資機構的支持,申請人必須註明及通知所有涉及的投資組織,但每個申請只可提交一份承諾協議書。最低總投資金額亦不可分拆至不同機構。即使有其他機構願意投資,每個指定機構的創業投資基金最低總投資金額仍然為$200,000加幣,天使投資者機構則為$75,000加幣。

如你正考慮移居加拿大,不論是希望投資移民,或對任何移民方案有疑問,都歡迎與我們聯絡。Simard & Associates提供全面的移民顧問服務,為客戶實現移民夢想多年,經驗豐富,是你的專業移民顧問首選。

 

【延伸閱讀】加拿大創業移民:IT、創科最吃香?申領加拿大start up visa門檻高嗎?
【延伸閱讀】銀髮族移民潮 | 加拿大福利有幾優厚?4個理由退休移民加拿大生活

Find out what it takes to be eligible for Canadian immigration and begin your clear path to Canada

Contact Us

Canada Start-Up Visa Program Overview

Canada’s Start-Up Visa Program is an investment immigration program that targets entrepreneurs looking to relocate to Canada. Through the program, innovative entrepreneurs must get support from private sector investors to help launch or expand their enterprise in Canada. While waiting for their permanent residency, foreign entrepreneurs who have applied for the Start-Up Visa are eligible for a temporary work permit so that they can be in Canada to set up and operate their business. 

Why is Canada an Attractive Place for Entrepreneurs?

As one of the wealthiest and most economically developed countries, Canada makes an ideal choice for entrepreneurs looking to relocate. Boasting a business-friendly economy, high quality of life, comprehensive welfare structure, sophisticated education system, and relatively low cost of living, Canada offers numerous incentives for new entrepreneurs. Start-up entrepreneurs can even benefit from the strong start-up ecosystem that Canada has cultivated over the years through the enormous access to venture capital and various incentives from the government. In recent years, big companies located in Canada have been feeding into the entrepreneurial potential and nurturing innovative ideas. World-class universities are acting as an incubator and accelerator for budding entrepreneurs by allowing access to their IP and resources. Additionally, the government also encourages start-up culture through programs like the Industrial Research Assistance Program, which offers entrepreneurs the mentorship and funding they need to get their start-up off the ground or the Strategic Innovation Fund by offering funding for industrial research, development and technology. Tax incentives, grants, and wage subsidies are some of the ways in which the Canadian government is helping to boost start-ups in Canada. By fostering innovation, cities like Toronto, Vancouver, Ottawa, Edmonton, and Calgary have reached within the top 100 cities in StartupBlink’s 2020 global startup ecosystem rankings. 

Details of Canada’s Start-Up Visa

In contrast to other investment immigration programs, the Start-Up Visa Program has no minimum net worth requirement and allows multiple applicants from one business project to apply. It also has one of the fastest processing times for getting a Canadian permanent residency. Unlike the provincial investment programs, applicants are not limited and confined to a specific region, meaning that applicants have a higher level of flexibility in where they want to settle. Since this program works along with reputable venture capital funds, angel investors and business incubators, there is a slightly easier transition for entrepreneurs as there is extra support to help facilitate the success of the startup.

 

Eligibility Requirements

To be eligible, applicants of the Start-Up Visa Program must meet the following requirements:

  • Applicants must fulfill ownership requirements by holding at least 10% or more voting rights to all shares of the corporation and assuming an active and ongoing management role in the business. Essential operations must also be done within Canada to be considered for this program.
  • Applicants must secure a minimum investment from a designated organization for their Canadian start-up. If the designated organization is a venture capital fund, the investment must be at least CAD 200,000. If the application is with an angel investor group, the total investment must be at least CAD 75,000.
  • Although each organization has a different process and requirement, applicants must obtain a letter of support from a designated organization in Canada. Both the organization and applicant have to send a letter which summarizes relevant details of the commitment between both parties to the Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) for the letter to be assessed as part of the application.
  • Applicants must show that they have sufficient funds to support their settlement into Canada for themselves and their family members. The exact proof of funds requirement depends on the number of family members: a minimum of CAD 12,960 for individual applicants, CAD 16,135 for a family of two, CAD 19,836 for a family of three, and CAD 24,083 for a family of four. Add approximately CAD 3,500 for each additional family member for numbers beyond that. Keep in mind that this money cannot be borrowed from another person.
  • Applicants must receive a minimum of the Canadian Language Benchmark (CLB) Level 5 or equivalent in either English or French in speaking, reading, listening, and writing.
  • Pass Canadian security and medical clearance
  • Demonstrate proof to settle in any province in Canada (except for the Province of Quebec)

 

Application Process

  1. Download the application form and document checklist from the IRCC website
  2. Prepare the necessary documents and fill in the application form
  3. Pay the application fee of CAD 1,575 for the principal and a CAD 500 right of permanent residence fee (RPRF). Accompanying partners must pay an additional CAD 825 for the application fee and another CAD 500 for the RPRF. If necessary, include extra biometrics or third-party fees like fingerprint collection, medical exams, police certificates, language testing etc.
  4. Mail the application directly to the IRCC office in Nova Scotia
  5. The IRCC will contact with an interview date or if there is any additional documentation needed
  6. If the application is approved, the IRCC will ask for passports to be sent to the visa office so that they can issue a permanent resident visa. This entire application process should take about 12 to 16 months.

FAQs

1. Is the visa extendable to my family members?

Yes. The applicant’s spouse or common-law partner and dependent single children under 22 may also apply for a permanent resident visa under the same application.

 

2. What are the working rights for my family members?

Applicants from the Start-Up Visa Program are eligible for a temporary work permit. Once that is issued, spouses or common-law partners can apply for an Open Work Permit if they are joining you in Canada. Holders of valid visas and work permits will have access to provincial healthcare, driver’s licenses, and public school education for their children.

 

3. Can I apply while living abroad?

Yes. Applicants can choose to be outside of Canada after applying for up to 16 months, as there is a 12-month application processing time and a 4-month waiting period for the interview.

 

4. What happens if my business does not work out after immigrating to Canada through the Start-Up Visa Program?

The permanent visa from the Start-Up Visa Program is not attached and linked to the performance of the business. Even if the business does not work out, the permanent resident status will not be affected once granted.

 

5. What happens if I have investment support from more than one designated organization? 

If you have support from more than one designated organization, all investment organizations involved must be identified and noted. Only one commitment certificate will be sent to the IRCC for each application. The minimum total investment cannot be split between different organizations. Even if another group invests, there is a minimum total investment amount per organization of CAD 200,000 for a designated venture capital fund and CAD 75,000 for an angel investor group. 

If you are thinking of moving to Canada through investment immigration or have questions regarding different immigration programs, feel free to contact us. As an immigration specialist, Simard & Associates have years of experience in helping our clients achieve their immigration dreams by providing comprehensive assistance in handling and guiding you through every step of the application process.   

 

Read More: Entrepreneur Immigration: Canada’s Start-Up Visa Program

Read More: Retiring in Canada: Social Welfare and Family Benefits