了解获得加拿大移民资格所需的条件,并开始通往加拿大的途径

Contact Us

银发族移民潮:4大理由退休移民加拿大生活

加拿大地广人稀,拥有辽阔的自然风光,四季恬静怡人。优厚的福利保障、开明的社会风气加上优良的生活质素,使加拿大长久以来成为香港人心目中的移民乌托邦。极佳的治安环境、共融的小区和宜居的生活条件,更是特别适合渴望退休移民的银发族,安享悠哉游哉的晚年生活。

对于许多香港人而言,加拿大这片「稳固之地」也寄予了他们对退休胜地的想象。这个国家曾多次幸免于环球金融危机的冲击,非但未有养尊处优,房地产、整体经济及就业市场更逆流稳步发展,金融稳健程度尤甚于英、美两国。不爱追逐急速发展的加拿大人将道德价值放在更高位置,促成了加拿大开明的社会风气,对外来的移民人口也特别友善。

过去数代以来渴望远离繁嚣的香港人钟情移民加拿大,特别是憧憬开展新生活、重视邻里情谊、享受自然风光的一代,在移民潮下无不以退休移民加拿大生活为终极目标。今天就与大家来揭开最让银发族们心动的移居理由!

完善的晚年退休保障

羡煞港人的加拿大福利制度非常完善,加拿大公民即使在退休后失去固定收入,仍可享有多项生活保障。一般而言,政府会按照合资格申请人的入息而制定所需的津贴金额,多数保障计划于申请人踏入65岁或以后即可生效,有的甚至于更早的年龄层展开。至于申请程序亦非常简单,通常只需提交个人入息税报税表进行审查,期后即可享有不同的退休保障选择:

老年保障金 Old Age SecurityOAS

凡于加拿大居留满10年且年满65岁的公民即合资格申请。许多加拿大人在踏入65岁生日的6个月前,便需要申请此项加拿大福利,包括备妥个人入息税报税表等申请文件,以确保老年保障金准时批核送上,免却延误批核的忧虑。

入息补助金 Guaranteed Income SupplementGIS

低收入加拿大公民除可获领OAS,还可以按需要额外申请GIS。在此计划下,如果你的伴侣踏入60岁至64岁,你将可额外获领「配偶津贴」;若伴侣已离世,而你已踏入60岁至64岁,亦同样可获领「遗属津贴」。

加拿大退休金计划 Canada Pension PlanCPP

在加拿大,几乎所有公民都会参与CPP供款,在将来有需要时可循CPP取回退休金、遗属津贴和残疾津贴等开支,甚至供养儿童亦可循CPP获得特定的津贴金额,而不论是法定夫妻或同居伴侣均有权获分得对方的CPP津贴。

在加拿大的魁北克省,当地人更同时有多重的加拿大福利选择。魁北克省公民可以选择供款予魁北克省退休金计划 Quebec Pension Plan(QPP),亦可以同时供款至CPP及QPP,令所获的津贴及补助金额相应增加。

其他联邦政府计划

其他长者公民可享有的加拿大福利包括:

  • 长者独立生活家居改装计划
    Home Adaptations for Independence (HAFI) Program
  • 退伍军人津贴
    War Veterans Allowance
  • 美洲原住民辅助生活计划
    Assisted Living Program for First Nations people and Inuits
  • 低收入家庭家居维修计划
    The Residential Rehabilitation Assistance and Emergency Repair Programs
  • 海外补贴计划
    (适用于海外居住及工作的加拿大公民,包括回流香港的移民)
    The International Benefits Program
免费公营医疗服务

加拿大不单福利优厚,医疗系统亦以灵活运作、公平分配及具有前瞻性见称。为应对日增的医疗服务需求,加拿大的公营医疗系统在过去40多年几经改革,不变的是沿用多年的按需分配公平原则,确保公民在使用医疗服务时不因财政能力而失去获得治疗的权力和机会。从一般门诊、各类型治疗、牙医服务以至眼科检查,在加拿大均是一律免费。

多元小区适应支援

对于加拿大的华人小区和浓厚的唐人街文化,相信许多人早已略有耳闻,甚至甫到埗就能感受到非一般的亲切感和安全感。虽然华人小区的邻里联系深厚,使华人在加拿大生活甚少遇上文化适应的问题,但当有需要时,初来甫到的移民仍能获得许多方面的小区支持,而且服务内容远超想象,协助移民家庭克服各方面的生活问题。

举例说,加拿大的宗教机构和小区中心就为移民家庭提供了小区归属感和支持。此外,通过当地的华人小区网络的交流和联系,加拿大文化和习俗得以潜移默化地在社群中传播,由居住了好一段时间的侨民帮助新来的移民融入小区。不得不提的是,在加拿大这个多元共融的社会,乐龄反倒能成为融入社会的一项优势。当地视银发族为社会重要一员,拥有智慧、久经历练和乐于接受新鲜事物,都是人们对新一代银发族的印象。

跨代共享优厚家庭福利

步入乐龄黄金岁月,考虑退休移民的你除了希望頣养天年,更可能是为了下一代家庭的福址着想。在加拿大,跨越两至三代的移民家庭十分常见,由父子至爷孙三代举家移民加拿大。在考虑退休移民时,这些家庭会考虑到家庭和教育等方面的福利措施,而优厚的加拿大福利政策正正提供了非常吸引的移民诱因,也解释香港人和其他华侨钟情移民加拿大的原因。

加拿大儿童福利金 Canada Child BenefitCCB

俗称牛奶金的加拿大儿童福利金(CCB)是一项免税福利,合资格家庭每月可获得育儿津贴,在特定情况下可同时获得儿童残疾补助。

CCB是按照家庭薪俸税及退税额而厘定,无论是否有固定入息,申请人需每年递交相关税务文件以作审查,而法定夫妇及同居伴侣需分开递交申请文件。经审查厘定可获得的津贴金额后,津贴会在随后12个月内每月发放,一般以每年七月至下一年的六月为一年度,随后需再接受审查重新厘定新一年度的津贴额度。

新父母分享福利 Parental Sharing BenefitPSB

PSB是较近期新出炉的加拿大福利政策,家长可享有额外的生产津贴及照顾新生儿的假期,以令父母双方都可以均等分享到迎接新生婴儿的喜悦。在2019年3月17日或以后出生或领养的儿童及其家庭即可受惠于此项津贴。

教育津贴 Education benefits

加拿大政府提供多项财务安排,帮助家庭供养子女就学,包括:

  • 加拿大教育储蓄补助金加拿大学习基金Canada Education Savings Grant and Canada Learning Bond
    为家庭分别提供7,200加币及2,000加币,鼓励家长及亲友储蓄以应付儿童未来的大专教育开支。
  • 加拿大教育储蓄计划 Registered Education Savings Plans
    提供税务减免的教育开支储蓄户口,以应付儿童未来的大专教育开支。
退休以后……谁说生活不再刺激精彩?

即使快将步入退休之年,眼前仍有一个全新的世界等待着你去发掘!不甘落后于人、满有冲劲的香港银发族们准备好了吗?生活质素持续名列前茅的加拿大正向你友善地招手,欢迎你踏足这片风光如画之地。悠闲的生活步伐和相宜的生活成本,意味着加拿大将继续成为愈来愈多香港人心目中的退休胜地。

在考虑及探索移民出路的时候,你可能会遇上有关居留权及签证事宜、繁复税项及各项开支的疑难,特别是当你正考虑移民加拿大时,最好应先咨询财务顾问的意见,以了解加拿大是否最适合自己的移民选择。想更轻松处理这些难题?Simard & Associates乐意为你效劳。我们是植根于香港的专业移民顾问团队,专门代办加拿大、北美及多个国家的移民事宜。立刻联络我们,由我们友善的团队为你逐一解答疑难,规划好你的加拿大退休移民蓝图。

Find out what it takes to be eligible for Canadian immigration and begin your clear path to Canada

Contact Us

Retiring in Canada: Social Welfare and Family Benefits

Canada is a beautiful, vast, peaceful country. It has long been one of the most attractive destinations for Hong Kong immigrants because of its superlative welfare system, open-mindedness and great living standards.

Canada is safe, multicultural and hospitable. For many Hong Kongers, it represents a truly idyllic retirement destination. The country has not been immune to various global financial crises, but it has weathered the storms on the real estate, economic and jobs front far better than have the UK and US. Morale is therefore relatively high in the country, and locals are friendly and welcoming to immigrants.

Today we delve into the reasons behind Hong Kongers’ love for retiring in Canada, the ultimate destination for those seeking adventure, community and nature after a life and career in the hustle and bustle of Hong Kong.

Elderly welfare

Social welfare in Canada is magnificent, and several government programs exist to help older Canadian citizens. If you are eligible, the amount of welfare you receive will depend on your income. Most programs begin at age 65, although a few can start earlier.

In order to be eligible, you must file a personal income tax return. After that, retirement-age citizens have several options.

Old Age Security (OAS)

Citizens aged 65 or older who have lived in Canada for at least 10 years can apply for OAS. You can file your application 6 months before your 65th birthday, and you are encouraged to complete an annual income tax return in order to avoid any processing delays.

Guaranteed Income Supplement (GIS)

Canadians on low incomes who already receive the OAS can also apply for the GIS. If your spouse is aged 60–64, they can apply for a separate benefit, the Allowance. This can also be claimed by a widow or widower aged 60–64, in which case it is termed the Allowance for the Survivor.

Canada Pension Plan (CPP)

Most Canadian workers pay into the CPP, which provides retirement, survivor, disability, death and children’s benefits to those who are eligible. There are also special provisions for those who reduced their earnings in order to raise young children. Sharing provisions exist for spouses and common-law partners.

Quebecers may also pay into the Quebec Pension Plan (QPP). If these people have paid into both the QPP and CPP, their contribution amounts are added.

Other federal programs

Some retirement-age Canadian citizens may also be eligible for other programs, including:

  • The Home Adaptation for Seniors’ Independence Program, which helps low-income pensioners with certain home renovations.
  • The War Veterans Allowance.
  • The Assisted Living Program for First Nations people and Inuits.
  • The Residential Rehabilitation Assistance and Emergency Repair Programs, for pensioners on low incomes.
  • The International Benefits Program, which is likely to be of particular interest to Hong Kong emigrants because it is designed specifically for those who have lived or worked in another country.
Healthcare

Healthcare in Canada is dynamic, fair and forward-thinking. The publicly funded system has seen many reforms in the past 4 decades and continues to respond rapidly to changes in the medical and societal landscapes. Fundamentally, however, its values remain constant: universal coverage for medically necessary healthcare services based on need, not pay. Treatment, medical appointments, dental visits, even eye tests — all are free.

Community

Chinese immigrants entering Canada can feel safe in the knowledge that they will be coming into an established community with rich Chinese heritage and presence. Even though social networks are already strong in China, most Chinese immigrants in Canada assert that the provision of social support exceeded their expectations and helped them overcome obstacles in their immigration process. 

Religious institutions and community centres provide Chinese immigrants with a sense of community and support. Furthermore, Chinese immigrants who have lived in Canada for some time are able to help other incoming Chinese people to integrate into Canadian society by introducing them to the country’s culture and customs. Most importantly, the ingratiation of Chinese immigrants into Canadian society is not contingent on age. Indeed, retirement-age individuals are widely considered uniquely beneficial to society because they are regarded as pillars of the community, wise, experienced, not to mention demonstrably open to new experiences, cultures and peoples.

Family welfare for the future

Many retirement-age Hong Kongers immigrating to Canada will not be the only generation of their families making the move. It is not uncommon for immigrants to have immigrated as an entire multigeneration family, consisting of their adult children and young grandchildren. Therefore, retirement-age Hong Kong emigrants moving to Canada have not only their own welfare to consider but also that of both their family and their progeny.

Family benefits in Canada come courtesy of a truly superlative welfare system. This which will be of great interest to Hong Kong emigrants and represents yet another reason why Canada remains one of the most popular retirement destinations for Chinese emigrants.

Canada Child Benefit (CCB)

The CCB is a tax-free monthly payment made to eligible families to help them with the costs of raising children. Depending on circumstances, the CCB may encompass Child Disability Benefit.

The CCB is calculated based on your income tax and benefit return. In order to receive CCB, you must file your return annually, even if you had zero income that year. Your spouse or common-law partner must file a separate return. Benefits are paid over a 12-month period from July to June, after which they will be recalculated.

Parental Sharing Benefit (PSB)

The PSB is a very recent innovation in the Canadian welfare system, whereby parents may receive extra weeks of Employment Insurance parental benefits in order that they can share the pleasure and joy of raising their children on a more equal basis. These extra weeks are available to parents of children born (or placed with them for the purpose of adoption) on or after March 17th, 2019, if parental benefits are shared.

Education benefits

Several financial options are available to Canadian citizens to support their children through their schooling, including:

  • The Canada Education Savings Grant and Canada Learning Bond pay up to $7,200(CAD) and $2,000(CAD) respectively, to encourage parents, friends and relatives to save well in advance of a child’s post-secondary education.
  • Registered Education Savings Plans provide tax-sheltered education savings account for post-secondary education.
Who said retirement couldn’t be an adventure?

An entire new world awaits forward-thinking, effervescent, go-getting retirement-age Hong Kongers. Canada has incredibly high standards of living, friendly and welcoming people and picturesque natural beauty. A laidback society and relatively low cost of living mean Canada is becoming ever more popular a retirement destination for Hong Kongers.

The residency and visa decisions, tax complications and associated costs of the immigration process itself mean you’re strongly recommended to consult a financial advisor if considering Canada as a retirement destination一 Simard & Associates can help. We are a Hong Kong-based professional immigration intermediary for clients in Canada, North America and other popular and desirable immigrant countries. Get in touch today and one of our friendly team will set you on the path to your ultimate retirement adventure in the Great White North!