了解获得加拿大移民资格所需的条件,并开始通往加拿大的途径

Contact Us

加拿大留学移民PEQ课程

PEQ是加拿大魁北克省(魁省)的经验移民计划,因申请手续简单、所需时间短、金钱成本及申请资格门坎较低,而成为近年一项通往加拿大留学移民的快速快捷方式,凡是符合条件的申请人都可以通过PEQ而取得俗称「枫叶卡」的加拿大永久居民身份证。

符合申请PEQ的条件的人士分为国际留学生及海外技术人才两大类,前者只需完成指定的专上学院课程,不需工作经验亦可以申请移民;后者更涵盖门坎不高的Working Holiday计划。PEQ计划的出现正是为希望获得「魁省甄选证书」(Quebec Selection Certificate)的人士而设,当成功领取到甄选证书后,申请人便可向加拿大联邦政府申请取得永久居民的资格。

申请PEQ读书移民困难吗?

对于年轻及勤奋的国际留学生移民并居留当地,加拿大政府持有开放及欢迎的态度,在全国各地均有不同措举吸引移民,而魁省的PEQ移民计划被视为是到加拿大留学移民的最快速快捷方式。由接受申请至批核,整个PEQ申请过程可于最快20个工作天内完成。

如国际留学生欲申请PEQ移民,只需在魁省完成学士学位、硕士学位、博士学位、学院技术类培训文凭或职业培训文凭。当中以职业培训文凭的门坎较低,学时只需达到1800小时,即为期约1.5年至2年,而且课程费用较相宜,只需由一万多加元起不等,范畴涉及汽车机械、室内设计与装潢、住宅与商业制图、专业烹饪、机电、护理学、旅游及酒店管理等,选择繁多。

至于海外技术人才申请者,有别于常规的技术移民计划,PEQ要求较为宽松,申请人毋需通过评分系统而评定移民资格。

PEQ读书移民申请资格

不论是国际留学生还是海外技术人才,若能具备中高级法语口语能力,就已经是申请PEQ计划必须具备而且非常加分的条件。问题是如何能达到所需的法语要求?对香港人而言,要在短时间内说出一口流利法语并非易事,但有心不怕难,从2019年起,当地政府推出法语免费学习新措施,对真正有意移民到魁省的人士来说是一大有利的措举。除了此之外,申请人亦需要符合以下条件:

  • 有意在魁省定居并工作
  • 目前居住在魁省主要目的为读书,并没有作出违反此目的之行为
  • 有经济能力应付个人及其家庭的生活所需至少3个月
  • 年满18岁
  • 持有有效护照

至于申请人的直系家庭成员,则可豁免于法语要求。申请者本人则可通过下列获认受的法语考试或资格,而达到PEQ的要求。

  • 获认受的法语口说能力考试包括:
  • Test d’évaluation du français adapté pour le Québec (TEFAQ)
  • Test de connaissance du français pour le Québec (TCF-Québec)
  • Test d’évaluation du français (TEF)
  • Test d’évaluation du français pour le Canada (TEF Canada)
  • Test de connaissance du français (TCF)
  • Diplôme d’études en langue français (DELF)
  • Diplôme approfondi de langue française (DALF)
  • 完成最少3年以法语为主要语言的中学或大专全日制教育
  • 完成获认证的中高级法语口语课程(此类申请者需再通过当局面试以核实其法语沟通能力)
  • 在魁省正常执业的专业人士资格

香港人如欲以海外专才身份申请PEQ计划,亦需具备当地对短期海外劳工的要求:

  • 以短期海外劳工的身份在魁省合法定居;或透过青年交流计划居留,例如工作假期计划及青年专才国际实习工作签证。
  • 于当地从事管理阶层、专业范畴及技术范畴的全职工作,并于提交申请时已任职最少12至24个月(兼职不作计算在内)。
  • 于当地从事指定的管理阶层、专业范畴及技术范畴的全职工作(符合加拿大国家职业分类系统中0, A, B, C, D级别的指定工作)并证明于提交申请前已任职该项工作。

能够达到上述要求的海外技术人才即合资格申请PEQ计划。PEQ计划不设名额限制,只需向魁北克移民部门MIDI递交所需的纸本文件即完成初步申请手续,全年皆接受申请。

PEQ计划最近有甚么新变更?

魁省移民部门最近于2019年7月10日至11月1日期间一度暂时暂停国际留学生的PEQ移民申请,同时将PEQ移民资格优先给予已于当地展发工作的海外技术人才,意味着PEQ在未来或更倾向于吸纳技术人才的申请,有意申请的国际留学生需多加注意,及时把握机会。而在新安排下,有两类留学生申请可获得豁免:

  • 于2019年7月10日或之前已取得有效工作签证而将2019年11月1日失效
  • 因当地通过相关法案*而导致终止参与常规技术移民计划的申请人
    *Act to increase Quebec’s socioeconomic prosperity and adequately meet labor market needs through successful immigrant integration (2019, ch. 11)
正考虑移民?魁省正等待着你来发掘更多机会!

专为国际留学生及海外技术人才而设的PEQ计划可说是理想的快速移民方法之一,特别是渴望到加拿大留学移民的香港人,PEQ计划是助你取得加拿大永久居留的特快快捷方式。

Simard & Associates 乐意为你解答一切有关移民的疑难。我们是植根于香港的专业移民顾问团队,专门代办加拿大、北美及多个国家的移民事宜。立刻联络我们,由我们友善的团队与你一起规划出理想的加拿大移民蓝图。

Find out what it takes to be eligible for Canadian immigration and begin your clear path to Canada

Contact Us

PEQ Immigration to Quebec for Oversea Students

The Quebec Experience Program (PEQ) is one of several Quebec immigration programs operated by the province of Quebec. More specifically, it is a simplified, accelerated selection program that helps certain individuals become permanent residents in Canada.

The PEQ program of Quebec is designed especially for international students and skilled workers from abroad who wish to obtain a “Certificat de sélection du Québec” (Quebec Selection Certificate), with a view to becoming permanent residents in Canada. No prior working experience is required for international student applicants who have successfully completed eligible diplomas under PEQ. Participants of approved working holiday programs are also eligible in applying as skilled workers.

Is the PEQ application process difficult?

The Canadian government is optimistic about the young, hard-working international students immigrating to the Great White North. The provinces of Canada have different policies on immigration, but the PEQ of Quebec has been consistently rated as among the fastest.

International students who wish to apply for the PEQ must obtain a diploma issued by a Québec university or an educational institution recognized by Ministère de l’Éducation et de l’Enseignement supérieur. It can be a Bachelor’s degree, a Master’s degree (including an MBA), a Doctorate or a Diploma of college studies or technical training. The program in which the applicant studies should be a full-time program with at least 1,800 hours. Diploma of Vocational Studies is often a more affordable option with specialization in maintenance mechanics, interior design, food services, health services, tourism, etc. 

All complete applications received under the PEQ will be processed on a priority basis within 20 working days. Unlike the Regular Skilled Worker Program, the PEQ does not use a point system based on different assessment factors.

The PEQ application has numerous advantages, such as:

  • Fast application turnaround
  • Low cost
  • Minimal interview requirements
  • No International English Language Testing System requirements
  • No employer letter requirements
  • No quota limit (making it unique in the realm of Canadian immigration)

It is renowned for its substantial natural resources, booming economy and thriving industries, including aerospace, information, communications, biotechnology and pharmaceuticals. Characterized by wondrous architecture, sophisticated culture and a friendly population, Quebec is a great place to live and an increasingly popular destination for Hong Kong immigrants.

Applying for the PEQ

The PEQ is intended not only for Quebec graduates but also for temporary foreign workers who meet certain conditions, such as demonstrating advanced intermediate knowledge of oral French. Hong Kongers who have spent most of their lives in Hong Kong may find the language requirement a major barrier. However, as of 2019, the government of Quebec is now offering French courses free of charge to help eligible immigrants improve their French-speaking skills. The PEQ is a highly coveted certification — but how does one go about acquiring it?

All PEQ applicants must meet the following general requirements:

  • Intention of settling in Quebec for work.
  • Previous temporary residence of Quebec with the primary goal of working or studying, and respecting the conditions of their stay.
  • Able to provide for their own needs and those of their spouse and dependent children for at least 3 months.
  • At least 18 years old.
  • Valid passport.

Applicants must demonstrate advanced intermediate knowledge of French. (Only applicable to the primary applicant; children and the accompanying spouse are not required to.) There are several acceptable methods of proving one’s proficiency in French:

  • Accepted French language tests, including:
    • Test d’évaluation du français adapté pour le Québec (TEFAQ)
    • Test de connaissance du français pour le Québec (TCF-Québec)
    • Test d’évaluation du français (TEF)
    • Test d’évaluation du français pour le Canada (TEF Canada)
    • Test de connaissance du français (TCF)
    • Diplôme d’études en langue français (DELF)
    • Diplôme approfondi de langue française (DALF)
  • Final transcript attesting to the successful completion of at least 3 years of secondary or post-secondary full-time study, pursued entirely in French
  • Final transcript attesting to the successful completion of an advanced intermediate-level French course (most candidates choosing this option will be selected for an in-person interview in order to confirm their proficiency)
  • Regular license to practice from a professional order in Quebec

Applicable to Hong Kong immigrants are criteria that must be met by temporary foreign workers in Quebec who wish to apply for the PEQ:

  • Legal habitation in Quebec as a skilled temporary foreign worker or under a youth exchange program, such as a Working Holiday, Young Professionals or International Co-Op permit.
  • Occupation of a full-time role at the managerial, professional or technical level for at least 12 of the 24 months preceding the submission of the application (part-time work is not accepted).
  • Occupation of a full-time role at the managerial, professional or technical level (levels O, A, B, C or D under the National Occupational Classification) at the time of submission of the application.

If a foreign worker meets all the above criteria, they are free to submit an application for the PEQ. There is no quota for the program, and applications are accepted throughout the year. PEQ applications are submitted in hard copies to MIDI for processing.

What’s new with the PEQ?

The Ministère is temporarily suspending the intake of permanent PEQ immigration applications under the Quebec Graduates stream of the PEQ, from July 10–November 1, 2019, in order to give priority to those applicants who are already working in the province. However, there are 2 notable exceptions to this suspension:

  • Graduates who have a valid work permit as of July 10, 2019, which expires before November 1, 2019.
  • Applicants whose application for selection filed under the Regular Skilled Worker Program was terminated under the Act to increase Quebec’s socioeconomic prosperity and adequately meet labor market needs through successful immigrant integration (2019, ch. 11).
Quebec is waiting for you!

Designed especially for international students and skilled workers with fast application process time, Quebec’s PEQ is an ideal gateway for Hong Kong immigrants who are looking at becoming permanent residents in Canada. 

Simard & Associates can help you with all your immigration inquiries. We are a Hong Kong-based professional immigration intermediary for clients in Canada, North America and other popular and desirable immigrant countries. Get in touch today and one of our friendly team will set you on the path to your ultimate adventure in the Great White North!