了解獲得加拿大移民資格所需的條件,並開始通往加拿大的途徑

Contact Us

魁北克政府的新政《人權與自由憲章》所載民主價值觀和魁北克價值觀,簡稱魁北克價值觀測試,於2020年1月1日正式生效。這項新規定要求新的魁北克移民在成為加拿大永久居民之前能證明他們理解民主價值觀和魁北克價值觀。

誰需要通過魁北克價值觀測試?

這項新政適用於魁北克常規技術移民、經驗類移民、企業家移民、自雇移民以及魁北克投資移民(QIIP)

所有移民申請人及隨行成年家屬必須通過該測試才能獲得甄選。18歲以下的未成年人以及殘疾人士不需要通過該測試。

家庭團聚移民和難民申請者不需要通過魁北克價值觀測試。

如何才能通過魁北克價值觀測試?

身在魁北克的申請者可以參加政府舉辦的宣講會。移民申請者也可以完成線上學習測評。申請者需要答對75%以上的題目方能通過測試。每人有三次機會通過該測試。

以下是一些測試樣題:

在魁北克,男性和女性享有同等權利,男女平等受《人權與自由憲章》約束和保護。
A. 正確
B. 錯誤

以下哪些人在魁北克有權結婚?
A. 兩男
B. 兩女一男
C. 兩女
D. 一男一女
E. 兩男一女

請指出以下哪一個/哪些情景存在歧視。拒絕聘用:
A. 一位懷孕的女性
B. 一位不具備所需文憑的人。
C. 一位某一族裔人士。

魁北克的官方語言是什麼?
A. 英語
B. 西班牙語
C. 法語
D. 法語和英語

我什麼時候需要完成魁北克價值觀測試?

該測試有效期為兩年。移民申請者需要在遞交申請前的兩年內完成該測試。

如何通過線上測評?

移民申請者必須至少通過20條測評題中的15條(75%的通過率)。測試時間為3小時。如果第一次考試沒能通過,申請者可以等兩周後再參加下一次的測試。

魁北克價值觀測試的內容是什麼?

魁北克政府要求新移民理解每個魁北克人都必須遵守民主價值觀和魁北克價值觀。該測試的實行是為了幫助新移民更好地瞭解魁北克核心價值觀。該測試包括五項核心價值:

• 核心價值一:魁北克是一個法語社會
• 核心價值二:魁北克是一個民主社會
• 核心價值三:男女平等
• 核心價值四:魁北克人的權利和責任
• 核心價值五:魁北克是一個世俗社會

核心價值一:魁北克是一個法語社會

法語代表魁北克文化,是魁北克社會歸屬感的公共標誌。法語的使用使得魁北克成為加拿大和北美洲的一個獨特社會。法語也是魁北克文化的通用表達方式。例如,法語見諸於戲劇、音樂、電影、小說、詩歌、藝術、博物館展覽以及其他形式的藝術作品。

魁北克政府鼓勵移民學習法語,因為它有利於融入魁北克社會。事實上,掌握法語尤其有利於獲得教育、工作、文化和公共服務。

核心價值二:魁北克是一個民主社會

在魁北克,民主體制使得人民通過選擇自己的代表來行使權力。行使選擇權的途徑是選舉。選舉產生的代表通常分屬於不同的政黨,政黨會提出他們的理念和計畫。

任何人符合相關條件,包括年滿 18 周歲、有加拿大公民身份並且在魁北克定居超過六個月都享有完全自由、保密的投票權。在魁北克,民主體制使得每一個人為民主生活做貢獻。

此外,魁北克允許任何人完全自由地表達觀點。但同時言論自由涉及到尊重他人自由和尊嚴的責任。言論自由可能受到每個人享有的名譽權的限制。例如,教唆或鼓動他人犯罪、故意損害他人名譽或散播歧視性或激起仇恨的言論等行為是不合法的。

言論自由還可能受到某些職業要求的謹慎、中立義務的限制。例如,魁北克政府公務員應當在執行公務時撇開個人觀點,在公開發表意見時維護職業信譽。

核心價值三:男女平等

男女平等是深植於魁北克社會的一項基本準則:男女在私生活和公共生活中享有同樣的權利、承擔同樣的義務和責任。

在家庭責任上,結成伴侶的人,無論生理性別或心理性別,享有同樣的權利,對彼此和子女承擔同樣的責任。在公共生活方面,男女在教育、工作以及政策決策領域都享有平等權。

核心價值四:魁北克人的權利和責任

《人權與自由憲章》適用於所有在魁北克的人。它還適用于法人,即社團、組織、企業和 政府。基本權益包括生命權、安全權、人身完整與自由權以及隱私權。

另一方面,由於基本權利是在社會中行使的,它們也會受到某些限制。例如,在魁北克,禁止在公共場所室內外抽煙,除非距離門口 9 米之外。

在憲章中還列明瞭很多其他的權利和責任,包括反歧視、兒童權利、司法權利等等。

核心價值五:魁北克是一個世俗社會

魁北克政府的世俗化旨在確保人人平等,無論其信仰或宗教。2019 年,為了鞏固世俗化, 魁北克在歷史演進中邁出了新的一步,頒佈了《世俗化法》。這部法律基於魁北克的歷史、價值觀和特點,確立了魁北克政府世俗化的模式。

總結

融入一個新社會必然要求新移民做出堅定且持續的承諾,即證明移民融入和充分參與公共生活的意願。這是魁北克價值觀測試的主要目標。

有意移民魁北克?Simard & Associates 樂意為你解答一切有關移民的疑難。我們是植根於香港的專業移民顧問團隊,專門代辦加拿大、北美及多個國家的移民事宜。立刻聯絡我們,由我們友善的團隊與你一起規劃出理想的加拿大移民藍圖。

參考文獻: DEMOCRATIC VALUES AND QUÉBEC VALUES AS EXPRESSED IN THE CHARTER OF HUMAN RIGHTS AND FREEDOMS Practical Guide

Find out what it takes to be eligible for Canadian immigration and begin your clear path to Canada

Contact Us

The Quebec Government’s new Attestation of Learning about Democratic Values and the Quebec Values, or commonly known as “Quebec Value Test”, came into effect on January 1, 2020. According to this new requirement, prospective immigrants will need to prove that they understand the democratic and Quebec values in order to become a permanent resident of Canada.

Who needs to pass the Quebec Value Test?

This new condition applies to applicants for the Regular Skilled Worker Program, Quebec Experience Program, Entrepreneur Program, Self-Employed Worker Program, and Quebec Immigrant Investor Program (QIIP).

All adult applicants included in the permanent selection application are required to pass the Value Test. Dependent children under age 18 and persons with a disability that prevents them from obtaining the attestation are exempt from this condition.

Applicants for Family Sponsorship or refugee do not need to take the Quebec Value Test.

How to take the Quebec Value Test?

Applicants in Quebec can participate in an information session to take the Value Test. One can also take the assessment online. The candidates have three chances to pass the test, which requires a result of 75% or more.

Some sample questions include:

Identify the situation(s) where there is discrimination. Refusing a job:
A. To a woman because of her pregnancy.
B. To a person who does not have the required diploma.
C. To a person because of their ethnic origin.

Since March 27, 2019, under the State Secularity Act, any new police officer cannot wear religious symbols in the exercise of their functions.
A. True
B. False

What is the official language of Quebec?
A. English
B. Spanish
C. French
D. French and English

When do I need to take the Quebec Value Test?

The attestation is valid for two years. In other words, applicants need to obtain it within two years prior to the submission of their applications.

How does the online assessment work?

To pass the online assessment, 15 correct answers are required out of a total of 20 questions (75% passing score). The applicants have 3 hours to complete the assessment. If one fails the assessment for the first time, they could wait for 2 weeks to take the online test again.

What is Quebec Value Test about?

The Government of Quebec wants new immigrants to understand that every Quebecker has an obligation to accept the democratic values and Quebec values. In order to help the new immigrants understand the province’s core values better, the value test has been launched. The test includes five key themes:

• Key 1: Quebec is a Francophone society
• Key 2: Quebec is a democratic society
• Key 3: Equality between women and men
• Key 4: The rights and responsibilities of Quebeckers
• Key 5: Quebec is a secular society

Key 1 — Quebec is a Francophone society

French represents the expression of Quebec culture and the common symbol of belonging to Quebec society. French language makes Quebec a distinct society in Canada and in North America. French is also how Quebec expresses its culture. For example, French is present in theatre, music, cinema, novels, poetry, art, museum exhibitions and many other forms of artistic creation.

The Quebec government encourages immigrants to learn French because it facilitates integration into Quebec society. Knowledge of French contributes and facilitates access to education, work, culture and public services, among other things.

Key 2 — Quebec is a democratic society

In Quebec, the democratic system allows the public to exercise their power by choosing their representatives during an election. Elected representatives generally come from different political parties that put forth various ideas and initiatives.

The right to vote freely and confidentially is granted in Quebec to anyone who meets certain criteria, including being 18 years of age or older, being a Canadian citizen and having resided in Quebec for at least six months. In Quebec, the democratic system allows each person to make their contribution to democracy.

In addition, one is free to express himself in Quebec. At the same time, freedom of expression implies a responsibility towards the freedom and dignity of others. It can be limited by everyone’s right to protect their reputation. For example, it is illegal to incite or encourage someone to commit a crime, act with the intention of harming someone’s reputation, or spread discriminatory statements or statements that incite hatred.

Freedom of expression may also be limited by the duty of reserve and neutrality required in certain types of employment. For example, Quebec public servants must set their personal opinions aside when carrying out their duties.

Key 3 — Equality between women and men

Equality between women and men is a fundamental value for Quebec society: women and men have the same rights, the same obligations, and the same responsibilities in their private and public lives.

In aspect of family responsibilities, couples, regardless of their sex and gender, have the same rights, as well as the same obligations toward their partner and their children. In public lives, women and men are equal in education, the workplace, decision-making and political circles.

Key 4 — The rights and responsibilities of Quebeckers

The Charter of Human Rights and Freedoms applies to everyone who is in Quebec, as well as all the groups, organizations, businesses and government. Fundamental rights include the right to life, security, integrity and personal liberty and the right to privacy.

On the other hand, since fundamental rights are exercised in society, there are certain limits to their application. For example, smoking is prohibited inside public spaces and outside within nine meters from their doors.

There are many more rights and responsibilities listed in the guide including the right to non-discrimination, the rights of children, and judicial rights.

Key 5 — Quebec is a secular society

The secularism of the Quebec ensures the equality of all people, regardless of their beliefs or their religion. In 2019, Quebec reinforced laicity by adopting the Act respecting the laicity. This Act introduces rules on how the value of secularism plays out in the public domain in Quebec.

Conclusion

To integrate into a new society, it is important to make a long-lasting commitment to show that you want to join and fully participate the local life. This is the main goal for Quebec’s value test.

Interested to move to Quebec? Simard & Associates can help you with all your immigration inquiries. We are a Hong Kong-based professional immigration intermediary for clients in Canada, North America and other popular and desirable immigrant countries. Get in touch today and one of our friendly team will set you on the path to your ultimate adventure in the Great White North!

Reference: DEMOCRATIC VALUES AND QUÉBEC VALUES AS EXPRESSED IN THE CHARTER OF HUMAN RIGHTS AND FREEDOMS Practical Guide