了解獲得加拿大移民資格所需的條件,並開始通往加拿大的途徑

Contact Us

在葡萄牙生活的經濟、醫療保健、就業和退休須知

毫無疑問,移民海外是一件人生大事。在移民海外之前,了解當地的各項資訊絕對能夠讓你更清楚當地的生活方式。葡萄牙除了擁有美不勝收的自然風景、充滿歷史痕跡的文化古蹟和令人垂涎三尺的葡國菜,不少海外人士亦非常嚮往在當地定居或享受退休生活。透過了解葡萄牙的經濟、教育制度、醫療保健政策和就業率,讓你可以更全面感受在葡萄牙生活的各種好處。

 

葡萄牙的經濟發展

與其他西歐國家一樣,葡萄牙的經濟以服務業為主。其中,旅遊業是葡萄牙經濟的重要支柱,對當地經濟發展貢獻良多。除了服務業外,葡萄牙的製造業和農業在當地經濟仍然佔有一定比例。葡萄牙政府近年積極與海外國家和國際組織如歐元區、北約組織、歐盟、世貿組織和聯合國合作,並且鼓勵投資者直接投資於當地,藉此促進和延續葡萄牙的發展步伐。與前幾年相比,葡萄牙維持著低通貨膨脹率,目前為0.3%,而國內生產總值則為2377.1億美元。蓬勃的經濟發展和高水平的生活質素致使葡萄牙成為世界一流國家。

儘管葡萄牙的生活質素水準甚高,然而當地的日常生活開支並不高昂,而且樓價亦相對便宜,加上各項稅務優惠,故此葡萄牙多年來都被不少海外人士視為理想的移民目的地,期望能前往當地定居或享受退休生活。由於里斯本和波圖是葡萄牙的經濟首都,故此這兩個城市的樓價物價稍高,而其他地區的樓價物價則較為相宜。此外,葡萄牙政府已經與很多國家簽訂雙重課稅協定,讓商品可以避免雙重課稅,因此當地商品價格一直保持在低位。另外,葡萄牙政府亦對非慣常居民設有特殊的税收制度,該制度為過去五年都不在葡萄牙定居的居民提供大量稅務優惠,故此葡萄牙多年來都是深受海外人士歡迎的熱門移民國家。

 

葡萄牙的教育制度

葡萄牙政府近年不斷完善教育制度,為年齡介乎4歲至18歲的葡萄牙公民和居民提供免費普及教育,務求令生活在葡萄牙的每一位受惠。當地不同的學校會組織成為各個學校群組,每個群組均設有其獨立的行政和管理制度。另外,葡萄牙有不少私立學校以小班教育形式授課,讓孩子可以更專心學習。在里斯本和其他主要城市,當地亦有一些以美式或英式課程主導並且以英語授課的國際學校供家長選擇。憑藉葡萄牙政府多年來不同的教育政策和計劃,近年當地的輟學人數大大減少,而且葡萄牙學生在國際學術測試的表現亦有明顯進步。

 

葡萄牙的醫療保健

由於葡萄牙的公立醫院和醫療保健中心都是政府資助的,因此當地的公共醫療保健系統能夠為永久居民和公民提供免費或廉價的醫療服務。值得留意的是,公共醫療保健系統亦會為成功申請成為葡萄牙永久居民的海外人士提供保障。假如海外人士尚未符合條件成為葡萄牙永久居民,他們必須在葡萄牙生活期間購買私人醫療保險,當地的私人醫療保險價格便宜,基本月費為20歐元左右,而保障較全面的私人醫療保險月費則為大約80歐元。

 

葡萄牙的就業情況

葡萄牙經濟發展一日千里,越來越多的初創企業和科技公司正在急速冒起,而當地人手需求最大的行業分別為醫療行業、旅遊業和資訊科技業。雖然一些行業的工作並不需要員工懂得以葡語溝通,然而傳統行業特別是需要與當地人接觸的行業則需要員工擁有一定的葡語水平。

葡萄牙政府規定的每月最低工資為635歐元,即大約752美元。除非你的條件符合非慣常居民稅收制度,否則總稅項會根據你在葡萄牙和海外國家的收入而定。另外,社會保障費用則會由僱主與僱員攤分,僱主需繳付費用的23.75%,而僱員則需繳付11%。假如在葡萄牙工作和生活的非永久居民需要繳付與葡萄牙簽訂雙邊社會保障協議的國家或歐盟的社會保障費用,則有機會不需繳付葡萄牙的社會保障費用。葡萄牙社會保障全面,無論你遇上失業、懷孕、陪產、患病、傷殘、工傷和其他健康狀況都設有保障,而且更設有養老金和死亡撫恤金,全方位照顧社會大眾的需要。

 

葡萄牙的退休生活

低犯罪率、相對簡單直接的移民程序和專為退休人士而設的稅收法例,致使葡萄牙一直都被視為最佳退休移民國家,而且當地的慢活節奏和龐大的英語社區更有助退休人士輕鬆適應當地生活。葡萄牙政府對非慣常居民設有特殊的税收制度,符合條件的退休人士在移居葡萄牙後便可以在所得稅方面受惠於固定的低稅率。另外,在葡萄牙工作並繳付社會保障費用至少15年或以上的人士亦可以提取養老金。由於葡萄牙生活開支相宜,故此就算你的儲蓄不多,當地的社會保障和養老金都足夠讓你應付一切日常開支。另外,退休人士亦不需要為移居葡萄牙之後的醫療保健而擔心,事關葡萄牙政府會為65歲以上的居民和長者提供免費國民醫療保健服務,絕對能夠讓你頤養天年。

 

打算移民葡萄牙在當地定居或是享受退休生活?

移民海外是一件人生大事,就讓Simard & Associates與你一起找尋最適合的移民計劃吧!Simard & Associates的專業團隊由經驗十足的移民律師、顧問和國際移民專家組成,定能助你實現移民夢想,不妨立即與我們聯絡,為你的移民夢踏出第一步!

Find out what it takes to be eligible for Canadian immigration and begin your clear path to Canada

Contact Us

Living in Portugal: Economy, Healthcare, Employment & Retirement

Making the decision to immigrate to another country is a pretty big deal. Take a glimpse of what it would be like to live and retire in Portugal beyond the beautiful natural scenery, culturally rich heritage, and delicious cuisine. Learn more about the economy, education system, healthcare policies, and employment rates, and get the full picture of what it is like living and retiring in Portugal with this guide. 

 

Economy

Similar to other western European countries, Portugal is now a predominantly service-based economy. Although there is still a percentage of manufacturing and agricultural output, international tourism is one of the main contributors. By encouraging direct investments and partnerships with other countries and international organizations (e.g. eurozone, NATO, EU, WTO, and UN), Portugal is doing its best to continue fostering and sustaining its development process. Compared to the previous years, Portugal’s inflation rate is 0.3%, while overall GDP is currently US$237.71bn. The growing economy and high standards of living are why Portugal is a first-world country. 

The affordable living costs, relatively cheap properties and attractive tax regime make Portugal a highly popular immigration and retirement destination. Although prices are slightly higher in Lisbon and Porto, the two economic capitals of the country, other parts of the country are very affordable in terms of cost of living and property prices. Additionally, because of the double taxation agreement with many different countries, the cost of items is kept on a minimal level. Similarly, the non-habitual tax regime allows for massive tax savings for residents who have not lived in Portugal for the last five years. 

 

Education

There has been significant progress in the Portugal education system that directly benefits those living in Portugal. Free universal education is available for citizens and residents from the age of four until the age of 18. The school network is organized into school clusters with their own administration and management bodies. There are also numerous private schools that have smaller class sizes. In Lisbon or other major cities, there are options for international schools with an American or English curriculum taught in English. Through numerous initiatives and schemes over the years, the government has successfully reduced the number of school dropouts and significantly improved the Portuguese students’ performance in international comparative tests. 

 

Healthcare

Since the collection of public hospitals and health centres are government-funded, the public healthcare system provides free or very low-cost medical care for its permanent residents and nationals. However, it is only available for foreigners who are permanent residents. Those who have not fulfilled the requirements to become permanent residents will have to buy private health insurance while they are living in Portugal. Fortunately, private health insurance is still competitively cheap. A basic monthly plan can cost around €20, while a comprehensive one is about €80. 

 

Employment

As a growing economy, there are many startups and tech companies that are quickly emerging. Most in-demand jobs include those in the healthcare, tourism and IT sector. Although some sectors may not require knowledge of Portuguese, traditional sectors, especially fields that directly interact with locals, will require a certain level of Portuguese. 

The minimum wage per month is €635, which is approximately US$752. Social security contributions are shared by the employee and the employer at rates of 11% and 23.75%, respectively. Non-permanent residents working and living in Portugal may be exempted from social security if they are contributing to a compulsory social security system in the EU or a country that has a bilateral social security agreement with Portugal. Overall tax is based on worldwide income unless you are eligible under the non-habitual tax regime. With social security, you can gain access to unemployment, maternity and paternity, sickness and disease, invalidity, work injuries and other health conditions, old-age pension, and death benefits. 

 

Retirement

Portugal is recognized as one of the best countries to retire abroad because of its attractive retirement tax laws, low crime rates, and relatively straightforward immigration process. The slow pace of life and large English-speaking community also makes it an easy transition. With the non-habitual tax regime, those retiring in Portugal that are eligible for the program can benefit from a discounted flat income tax rate. Those who have at least 15 years of social security contributions while under Portuguese employment can claim for a contribution-based state pension. The low cost of living can mean that any savings, social security, or pension can go a long way. Retirees do not have to worry about healthcare as free national healthcare is offered to residents and seniors above the age of 65. 

 

Is your next step living and retiring in Portugal

Find out which immigration program is right for you with Simard & Associates. Our team of highly professional and experienced lawyers, supporting consultants and global immigration experts can help you to realize and achieve your immigration dreams. Get in touch today!