了解获得加拿大移民资格所需的条件,并开始通往加拿大的途径

Contact Us

加拿大政府一向致力让其公民与挚爱和家人团聚,故此提供不同类型的移民签证计划,让公民能够担保配偶和亲属移居当地。此外,加拿大更是世界上移民签证申请程序最简单的国家,这亦说明了为什么有这么多的香港人选择加拿大作为移民目的地。

作为加拿大永久居民或公民,你可以为有意移民加拿大的配偶或合资格家庭成员作担保申请移民签证,涵盖在家庭团聚移民计划内的加拿大受养人签证,就是其中一项合适的选择。加拿大受养人签证提供一个便捷的渠道,让已成年的永久居民或公民能够为他们的亲属、受抚养子女和配偶申请移民加拿大,好让他们在加拿大一家团聚。

 

申请程序

如果你打算成为加拿大受养人签证的担保人,首先你必须是加拿大永久居民或公民。一旦成为加拿大永久居民,基本上你所享有的权利和义务与加拿大公民无异。只要你在5年之内累积至少2年时间于加拿大居住,你便可以无限期保留永久居民身份。假如你在加拿大住满3年,你更可以申请公民身份。另外,由于加拿大政府承认双重国籍身份,故此你并无需要放弃目前所持有的护照。

 

担保配偶或普通法伴侣

相对其他加拿大移民专案,配偶移民专案相对简单。无论你的另一半居住在海外或是持有临时居留签证现居于加拿大,你都可以为他们作担保申请配偶签证以获得永久居民身份。加拿大收养人签证审批时间大约是12个月,比其他加拿大移民项目快很多。如果申请人现居于加拿大,更有机会合资格获批工作许可,这样无疑能够为两口子减轻经济上的负担。

即使移民担保签证的申请仍在进行中,配偶签证和配偶工作许可均赋予受担保的一方在加拿大工作的权利。加拿大政府承认事实婚姻关系,亦即表示尽管你和你的伴侣尚未结婚,只要你们同居至少12个月,身为加拿大永久居民或公民的一方依然可以为其伴侣作担保。

 

担保子女或其他受抚养儿童

假如你正打算移民加拿大,你的子女是可以以随行家属名义一同申请永久居民身份。然而,如果你基于某些原因而不选择这样做,他们亦可透过申请子女担保计划前来加拿大与你团聚。此计划让加拿大永久居民和公民可以为其受抚养子女作担保申请永久居民身份,需留意计划规定受抚养子女必须为21岁或以下、未婚及未有子女。

 

担保父母或祖父母

加拿大永久居民和公民是可以透过父母与祖父母担保计划,为其父母和祖父母作担保申请移民加拿大团聚。对此计划有兴趣的加拿大永久居民或公民必须符合当局以家庭成员人数为单位订立的最低收入要求,藉此证明拥有足够的财政能力应付日常开支。如果担保人未能作永久担保,其父母或祖父母亦可以申请超级签证。超级签证是一个让持有人能多次入境加拿大的长期签证,适用于加拿大永久居民和公民的父母与祖父母。

 

申请资格

假如你正打算申请家庭团聚签证,你必须确保所有申请人均符合相关资格。

首先,家庭团聚签证申请人必须与一名加拿大公民或永久居民为下列关系其中之一:

  • 受抚养子女
  • 父母
  • 祖父母
  • 配偶、事实婚姻伴侣或夫妻关系伴侣
  • 17岁以下、未婚和父母双亡的兄弟姊妹、侄子、侄女或孙子、孙女

尽管如此,合资格申请人的定义多样,而且每项细节对于申请均影响重大,需要特别留意。

 

如何定义配偶或伴侣

  • 配偶:在原籍国合法结婚,并符合加拿大的法律
  • 夫妻关系伴侣:拥有至少12个月的恋爱关系,但是由于宗教理由、移民壁垒、性取向或婚姻状况而被禁止同居(例如,其中一人与一个来自不可能离婚的国家的人合法结婚)
  • 事实婚姻:拥有至少12个月不间断的同居关系
  • 同性关系亦会按照上述种类定义,而且均会被视作有效的移民申请。

 

如何定义受抚养子女

担保人、担保人的普通法伴侣或配偶的21岁或以下单身子女均会被定义为受抚养子女。如果子女在21岁或以前均需要在经济上依赖父母,并且由于生理或心理状况而未能在经济上自给自足,即使他们年满22岁或以上都会被视为受抚养子女。

尽管子女的抚养权归前度配偶,他们仍会被是为受抚养子女,然而他们必须在申请家庭团聚签证的时候清楚列明关系。另外,假如被担保的受抚养子女自己亦有至少一名受抚养子女,担保人必须证明他们有足够的经济能力以符合最低收入要求。

 

谁能成为担保人

任何居住在加拿大的永久居民或公民均可作为担保人(目前居住在海外的加拿大公民,只要计划在被担保亲属抵达加拿大后回当地永久居住,亦可作为担保人。)

担保签证计划当中有不少限制条款,在下列情况,你有可能无法成为担保人:

  • 被监禁
  • 被发遣返令
  • 正在经历破产
  • 曾经、试图或威胁犯下与暴力或性有关的罪行而且被定罪
  • 正在接受政府的社会援助(残疾除外)
  • 未能支付子女抚养费
  • 未能偿还移民贷款
  • 曾经担保一名不合资格申请移民签证的亲属
  • 曾经担保一名拥有非永久居民身份超过3年的前度配偶或伴侣
  • 曾经为自己作担保并且成为永久居民不足5年

 

所需文件

打算担保家人申请受养人签证的人士,你需要完整地向加拿大移民、难民及公民部(IRCC)提交能够证明过去12个月财务状况的文件,以确定你是否有足够的经济能力应付申请人的生活开支。

加拿大移民、难民及公民部(IRCC)宣布自2017年10月24日起,受养人签证的主申请人可以在移民申请中加上其21岁或以下未婚和没有同居关系的子女。

被担保的一方必须在提交申请的同时附上体检报告,而来自非洲、欧洲和中东的申请人则需额外提交生物特征数据。

此外,申请人和任何年满18岁的亲属必须提交来自原籍国、长时间生活或居住满6个月以上的国家之刑事纪录证明。

最后,如果申请者有意移居魁北克省,除符合上述联邦政府所要求的条件外,魁北克省当局可能有其他要求。例如,居住在魁北克省的潜在担保人在提交申请后必须向魁北克政府提交一份特别协议。

 

所需费用

加拿大政府会向家庭团聚签证的申请人收取手续费和担保费,而每一位被担保的亲属亦必须支付永久居留权费用,此费用则不适用于受抚养子女。假如你的担保被拒绝或取消,永久居留权费用是唯一获退款项。

家庭成员 所需费用(加拿大元) 总费用/一人(加拿大元)
 

配偶/伴侣/22岁或以上亲属

 

担保费 (75)  

1,040

 

手续费 (475)
永久居留权费用 (490)
 

 

非受抚养子女、21岁或以下亲属

 

 

担保费 (75)  

640

 

手续费 (75)
永久居留权费用 (490)
 

受抚养/领养子女或孤儿亲戚

 

担保费 (75)  

150

 

担保费 (75)

 

与亲人一起在加拿大过着梦寐以求的生活吧!

加拿大是一个与家人生活的好地方,当地的家庭团聚签证是世界上最直接、最受欢迎的移民项目。然而,居留与签证的决定、税务的复杂程度以及移民过程中的繁琐杂费都令不少人苦恼。有见及此,不妨向移民中介查询以获取意见。如果你正在为申请加拿大家庭团聚签证或配偶移民而烦恼,Simard & Associates定可助你一臂之力。总部设于香港的专业移民顾问Simard & Associates旨在为有意移民加拿大、北美以及其他受欢迎移民国家的客人提供协助。立即与我们联络,让Simard & Associates专业且友善的专业团队协助你移民加拿大与亲人团聚。

Find out what it takes to be eligible for Canadian immigration and begin your clear path to Canada

Contact Us

The Government of Canada is committed to reuniting loved ones and keeping families together wherever possible. Therefore, the country offers many immigration programs that give Canadians ample opportunity to sponsor their spouse and relatives who wish to immigrate to Canada in order to join their loved ones. The country has one of the most straightforward visa application processes in the world. This is just one of the many reasons that Canada has proven to be such a popular destination for Hong Kongers.

As a permanent resident or citizen of Canada, you can sponsor an eligible family member or spouse who wishes to immigrate to Canada. The Dependent Visa for Canada, part of the Family Class Sponsorship Program, enables adult permanent residents or citizens to reunite with relatives, dependent children or their spouse through immigration to Canada.

 

Application procedures

In order to sponsor a family member for a Dependent Visa, the applicant must be a permanent resident or citizen of Canada. Once you become a Canada permanent resident, you have almost all the same obligations and rights as a Canadian citizen. This status may be held indefinitely as long as you accumulate at least 2 years’ worth of residency days within a 5-year period. After 3 years of residency in Canada, you may also submit an application for full citizenship. Canada recognizes dual citizenship, so there’s no pressure to relinquish your current passport.

 

Spousal or common-law partner sponsorships

Spousal immigration in Canada is relatively simple. Whether your partner is residing abroad or in Canada on a temporary visa, you can make use of the accelerated 12-month processing period by sponsoring them for permanent residence on a spousal visa. Applicants who live in Canada may potentially also qualify for an open work permit, which gives couples the opportunity to relieve themselves of some of their financial burdens.

Both the spousal visa and spousal open work permit afford sponsored persons the ability to work in Canada even during the time that their sponsorship application is being processed. Canada recognizes common-law partnerships, meaning you may be eligible to apply for a spousal sponsorship if you and your partner are unmarried but have been cohabiting for at least 12 months.

 

Child (or other dependent) sponsorship

Canada-bound immigrants are able to include their children as accompanying dependents on their permanent residence applications. However, if for certain reasons, you had chosen not to, your children may still be able to join you under the Child Sponsorship Program. This dependent visa initiative allows Canadian residents and citizens to sponsor their dependent children (aged 21 or below) for permanent residency, on the condition that the said children are unmarried and have no children of their own.

 

Parent or grandparent sponsorship

Parents and grandparents of Canadian permanent residents and citizens may be sponsored through the Parent and Grandparent Sponsorship Program. To be eligible, the permanent resident or citizen must demonstrate that they are capable of financially supporting their family in accordance with the Minimum Necessary Income for the size of their family unit. Sponsors who are unable to permanently support their sponsored relatives may be eligible for a Super Visa. This is a multiple-entry, long-term visa for both parents and grandparents of Canadian permanent residents and citizens.

 

Applicant eligibility

Before you begin a Family Sponsorship application, you must ensure that all applicants are indeed eligible.

First of all, the individual seeking sponsorship must be one of the following in relation to a Canadian citizen or permanent resident:

  • Dependent child
  • Parent
  • Grandparent
  • Spouse or common-law or conjugal partner
  • Sibling, niece, nephew or grandchild aged 17 or below who is unmarried and whose parents are both deceased

However, there is more to these definitions, and the details could be crucial when considering your loved one’s application.

 

How is a spouse or partner defined?

  • Spouse: you have been legally married in your country of origin and under Canadian law
  • Conjugal partner: you have been in a relationship for at least 12 months but been prevented from cohabiting because of religious reasons, immigration barriers, sexual orientation or marital status (e.g. one of you is legally married to someone else in a country where divorce is not possible)
  • Common-law partner: you have had at least 12 months of uninterrupted cohabitation in a conjugal relationship
  • Same-sex relationships are considered valid for the purposes of immigration within all of the above categories

 

How is a dependent child defined?

A child of a sponsor or of the sponsor’s common-law partner or spouse is considered dependent if they are 21 or below and single. Children aged 22 or older can be considered dependents if they relied on their parents financially when they were 21 or younger and are unable to support themselves financially because of a physical or mental condition.

A child who is under the sole custody of a previous spouse is still considered dependent. They must be declared on the sponsorship application. If a dependent child who is being sponsored has at least one dependent child themselves, the sponsor must also demonstrate that they have the financial capacity to meet a low-income threshold.

 

Who can be a sponsor?

Any adult Canadian permanent resident or citizen who resides in Canada can be a sponsor (as can citizens who are currently living abroad and who plan to return to permanently residing in Canada once their sponsored relative arrives in the country.

There are a number of caveats to this rule. You may not be a sponsor if you:

  • Are incarcerated
  • Are subject to a removal order
  • Are going through bankruptcy
  • Have been convicted of committing or attempting or threatening to commit a violent or sexual offense
  • Are receiving social assistance from the government (except for disability)
  • Have failed to pay child support
  • Have failed to return payment on immigration loans
  • Have sponsored a relative previously who then failed to meet the terms of their sponsorship
  • Have sponsored an ex-spouse or -partner who was not a permanent resident for over 3 years
  • Were sponsored yourself and became a resident under 5 years ago

 

 

Documentation

To sponsor a family member for the Dependent Visa for Canada, you need to provide documentation that incontrovertibly demonstrates your finances from the preceding 12 months to the IRCC (Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada), in order to determine whether you are capable of financially supporting the individual in question.

As of October 24, 2017, the IRCC declared that principal applicants of the Dependent Visa for Canada may include on their immigration application their children who are aged 21 or below as long as the latter are neither married nor in a common-law relationship.

The sponsored person must submit the results of a medical exam taken at the time of their application. Applicants from Africa, Europe and the Middle East must also include their biometric data.

Applicants and every relative aged 18 and above must also submit police certificates from their country of origin or the country in which they have spent the majority of their life living, as well as from any country in which they resided for over 6 months.

Finally, the province of Quebec requires further family sponsorship criteria once the abovementioned federal criteria have been met. After applying for sponsorship, potential sponsors who reside within Quebec must submit a special agreement to the Government of Quebec.

 

Fees

The Government of Canada must receive payment of the processing fees and sponsorship for Family Class applications. Furthermore, every sponsored relative who is not a dependent child must submit a Right of Permanent Residence fee. This fee is the only one that will be refunded to individuals whose sponsorships are refused or withdrawn.

Family Member Fees ($CAN) Total Fees/Person ($CAN)
 

Spouse/partner/relative aged 22 or above

 

Sponsorship fee (75)  

1,040

 

Processing fee (475)
Right of Permanent Residence fee (490)
 

Relative aged 21 or below who is not your dependent child

 

Sponsorship fee (75)  

640

 

Processing fee (75)
Right of Permanent Residence fee (490)
 

Dependent/adopted child or orphaned relative

 

Sponsorship fee (75)  

150

 

Processing fee (75)

 

Live the dream life in Canada with your loved ones!

Canada is a wonderful place to live with your family, and its sponsorship programs are among the most welcoming and straightforward in the world. That being said, the residency and visa decisions, tax complications and associated costs of the immigration process mean you’re strongly recommended to consult an advisor if considering family or spouse immigration to Canada. Simard & Associates offers professional help with visa applications for your dependents or spouse. We are a Hong Kong-based professional immigration intermediary for clients looking at immigrating to Canada, North America and other popular and desirable immigrant countries. Get in touch today and one of our friendly team members will help relocate and reunite you and your loved ones in Canada.