了解获得加拿大移民资格所需的条件,并开始通往加拿大的途径

Contact Us

【加拿大移民计划 2021】加拿大再推港人申请永久居留权的两项新途径!

加拿大政府最近再宣布两项让港人及其家属申请加拿大永久居留权的新途径,以吸引港人移居加拿大,为当地经济、社会及文化带来新的动力。

早前加拿大政府于2021年2月推出开放式工作签证(Open Work Permit),让有意在加拿大读书和工作的港人更快获批签证。开放式工作签证没有特定工作要求、最低资产净值或地区限制,申请人只需年满18岁、持有效香港特区护照或英国国民(海外)护照(British National Overseas,BNO),并在加拿大专上文凭、学位或同等水平的海外课程毕业不超过5年,即可申请。

一如开放式工作签证,两项新途径的对象均是身在加拿大、持有暂时居留许可,并有意成为加拿大永久居民的的港人。途径A为近年毕业生而设,而途径B的对象则是拥有一定工作经验人仕。两个申请途径的有效日期均为2021年6月1日至2026年8月31日。虽然两个申请途径均可让申请人获得加拿大永久居留权,但在教育和工作要求方面则各有不同,以下将一一详述。

 

途径A

如欲申请此途径,你必须符合以下条件:

  • 持有由香港特别行政区(HKSAR)发出的有效香港特区护照或英国政府发出的有效英国国民(海外)护照。
  • 申请和获发加拿大永久居留权时均身处加拿大。
  • 持有有效的加拿大临时居留签证。
  • 打算在任何一个加拿大省份或地区生活(魁北克省除外)。
  • 在加拿大语言基准(Canadian Language Benchmark,CLB)或 Niveaux de Compétence Linguistique Canadiens (NCLC) 英语或法语的阅读、写作、聆听和会话中,每个项目至少获得5级评分。
  • 不论是文凭、学位、本科、学士后文凭或证书,均须在申请前过去3年内从加拿大认可的专上教育机构毕业,其中最少50%授课时间需在加拿大境内进行,亲身或网上授课均可。

 

途径B

如欲申请此途径,你必须符合以下条件:

  • 持有由香港特别行政区(HKSAR)发出的有效香港特区护照或英国政府发出的有效英国国民(海外)护照。
  • 申请和获发加拿大永久居留权时均身处加拿大。
  • 持有有效的加拿大临时居留签证。
  • 打算在任何一个加拿大省份或地区生活(魁北克省除外)。
  • 在加拿大语言基准(Canadian Language Benchmark,CLB)或 Niveaux de Compétence Linguistique Canadiens (NCLC) 英语或法语的阅读、写作、聆听和会话中,每个项目至少获得5级评分。
  • 申请时过去5年内,在加拿大完成至少长达2年的文凭或学位课程,或至少长达1年的本科或学士后文凭或证书课程。如果申请人持有海外学历,资格等同于维期至少2年的加拿大专上文凭课程、至少长达1年的加拿大专上学位,或加拿大本科或学士后文凭或证书课程,亦可申请。
  • 申请时过去3年内在加拿大工作全职工作至少12个月,或累积至少1,560小时的兼职工作时数,而申请人当时须获准在加拿大内合法工作,工作时数方为有效。

 

除了以上两项最新途径,加拿大政府亦推出了其他各项措施来协助港人获取加拿大永久居留权。马上透过 Simard & Associates 的移民顾问,找出最适合自己的移民方案!我们的专业顾问团队由经验丰富的移民律师、顾问和环球移民专家组成,为您解答各种移民疑问。立即联络我们,获取更多有关加拿大移民计划的最新信息!

Find out what it takes to be eligible for Canadian immigration and begin your clear path to Canada

Contact Us

Canada: New Pathways to Permanent Residence for Hong Kong Residents

The government just announced two additional pathways to permanent residency in Canada for Hong Kong residents and their families. These are the latest initiatives offered by the Canadian government to attract Hong Kong residents to relocate to Canada and contribute to their economy, society and culture. 

Previously, an open work permit was introduced back in February 2021, which expedites the permit process for Hong Kong residents looking to study and work in Canada. As an open work permit, there was no specific job requirement, minimum net worth, or limitation on a region. As long as you are above 18 years old, hold a valid Hong Kong or British National Overseas (BNO) passport, and have graduated no more than 5 years prior from a Canadian post-secondary diploma, degree, or equivalent foreign credential, you can apply. 

Like the Open Work Permit, the two new pathways target Hong Kong residents in Canada who have valid temporary resident status and are looking to become Canadian permanent residents (PR). Stream A is for recent graduates, while stream B is for those with work experience. Both programs are in effect from 1 June 2021 to 31 August 2026. Although both streams are similar and allow applicants to get Canadian permanent residency, they differ in terms of their education and work requirements. 

 

Stream A

To be eligible for this stream, you must: 

  • Hold a valid Hong Kong or BNO passport issued by the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region or the United Kingdom.
  • Be physically present in Canada when you apply and when you are granted Canadian PR status.
  • Have a valid temporary resident status in Canada.
  • Demonstrate intention to live in any Canadian province or territory other than the province of Quebec.
  • Receive a minimum of Level 5 in the Canadian Language Benchmark (CLB) or Niveaux de compétence linguistique canadiens (NCLC) Level 5 in either English or French in reading, writing, listening, and speaking.
  • Have graduated from a post-secondary designated learning institution in Canada where at least 50% of the program was completed in Canada in person or online. The diploma, degree, graduate or post-graduate diploma or certificate must be completed within the 3 years of applying.

 

Stream B 

To be eligible for this stream, you must: 

  • Hold a valid Hong Kong or BNO passport issued by the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region or the United Kingdom.
  • Be physically present in Canada when you apply and when you are granted Canadian PR status.
  • Have a valid temporary resident status in Canada.
  • Demonstrate intention to live in any Canadian province or territory other than the province of Quebec.
  • Received a minimum of Level 5 in the Canadian Language Benchmark (CLB) or Niveaux de compétence linguistique canadiens (NCLC) Level 5 in either English or French in reading, writing, listening, and speaking.
  • Have graduated within 5 years of applying with a diploma or degree for a program that is at least 2 years in duration, or a graduate or post-graduate diploma or certificate for a program of at least 1 year from post-secondary designated learning institutions in Canada. You can also apply if you have a foreign educational credential equivalent of a Canadian post-secondary diploma for programs of more than 2 years, a Canadian post-secondary degree, or a Canadian graduate or post-graduate diploma or certificate for programs of at least 1 year in length.
  • Have worked in Canada for at least 12 months full-time or an equal amount of part-time hours (at least 1,560 hours in total) in the 3 years before application. For these hours to count, you must have been allowed to work legally in Canada.

There are many other initiatives offered by the Canadian government that help Hong Kong residents to receive permanent residency in Canada. Find out which program is more suitable for you with Simard & Associates. Our team of experienced immigration lawyers, consultants and global immigration experts are here to help you get started on your immigration journey. Enjoy up-to-date immigration news and comprehensive assistance with the immigration process towards becoming a Canadian PR. Get in touch to realise your immigration dreams.