了解获得加拿大移民资格所需的条件,并开始通往加拿大的途径

Contact Us

【加拿大学制】加拿大小区学院是什么?加拿大教育制度全面看!

加拿大教育水平素来都被公认为世界一流,深受各地家长的喜爱。随着加拿大政府宣布针对香港居民的移民新政为香港居民提供获取加拿大永久居留的快捷途径,越来越多香港家庭以及大专学生都考虑前往当地继续升学和生活。

 

加拿大教育制度简介

加拿大法例规定每位儿童都必须接受教育直至16或18岁(因所身处省份或领地而定),或是直至他们获取高中文凭。

与香港不同,加拿大并没有联邦教育部门或国家课程规范。一般而言,省政府或领地政府会委托教育局、学区或地区教育委员会建立适合当地的教育制度和监督课程。因此,尽管加拿大全国的教育制度大致一样,然而各个省份之间仍有不少重大差异。

在加拿大,儿童由幼儿园到12年级都会接受由政府税收支付的免费公共教育,而当地人通常会称这段时间为K-12年。由于法文和英文都是加拿大的官方语言,所以家长可以为子女选择接受哪种语言的教育。与香港一样,加拿大的学校一般都是逢星期一至星期五上课,而且每个学年通常都是于大约八月尾至九月头开始,直到来年六月尾。

总括而言,加拿大教育制度可以大致分为三个阶段,小学(基础程度教育)、中学和大专。至于年级架构则会因省份或同一省份的不同学区而异。举个例子,一些学区会把幼儿园涵盖于基础程度教育制度的7-8年级中,然而一些学区则会将幼儿园分为初级幼儿园和高级幼儿园。故此,前往各个地区的教育局网页查看相关资料是了解年级架构的最佳途径。

以下是一般加拿大学校种类简介:

 

学前班

学前班

虽然加拿大学制并没有明文规定儿童必须入读学前班,然而为年幼子女于入读小学前报读学前班目前在当地相当普遍。值得留意的是,学前班与托儿服务一样并不包括在免费公共教育制度之内。

 

小学(基础程度教育)

年龄小于5岁的儿童在加拿大并不一定需要上学,故此基础程度教育主要对象为5-12岁的儿童,其架构包括幼儿园和1-6年级(一些学区涵盖7-8年级)。

 

幼儿园

根据加拿大教育法例,儿童最早可以于4岁开始上学,而入读幼儿园亦即代表儿童开始接受正式教育。有别于自愿报读的学前班,一些省份规定儿童必须入读幼儿园。

 

小学

小学在加拿大学制里有时又被称为基础程度学校,当地小学主要负责儿童的1年级至6年级或8年级课程。加拿大的小学课程大致包括艺术、语文、数学、科学与科技、社会研究和体育,一些以英语授课的小学,更会以法文作为第二语言教授,期望能够为学生打好根基,迎接将来的初中和高中课程。

 

初中

初中学校可以是一间独立营运的学校或是大型学校的一部分,它们主要教授7-8年级课程。一些省份如魁北克会把7-8年级归类为中级程度教育,而另外的省份则会将7-8年级归类为初中学年。

 

高中

大多数加拿大省份的高中都是以教授9-12年级课程为主,课程旨在为学生作好升读大专院校的准备。尽管加拿大公共教育系统内有不少优秀的公立高中选择,很多家长依然会因为进阶学习课程而考虑替孩子报读私立学校。一般来说,私立学校一样会向学生教授传统加拿大学制的高中课程。然而,他们的进阶学习课程内容则会与大专教育衔接,而且更会为学生提供达到大学程度的课程和考试,务求帮助他们提早适应大专教育。

 

大学及高等教育

有别于其他国家和地区,学院和大学在加拿大学制里是不同的学校种类,而且不能互换使用。加拿大的学院注重职业训练,而大学则更注重于学术或专业层面。

 

大学

加拿大有不少世界首屈一指的大学,例如多伦多大学和英属哥伦比亚大学。当地大学提供本科生、毕业生和研究生课程,课程内容主要围绕学术探讨和专业研究,例如历史、艺术、法律和工程。一般学士课程的修读年期为3-4年,亦有一些课程需要修读5年。虽然大学学费并不是免费(就算是加拿大永久居民也一样不是免费),然而不少大学都会为合资格的学生提供一系列奖学金和资助津贴。

 

学院

加拿大的大部分学院都有提供为期1-3年的兼读制或全日制证书和文凭课程。这类课程为学生提供应用艺术、技术、贸易、语言和军事等广泛的实质职业培训。一些加拿大小区学院更有提供大学衔接计划,学生可以在小区学院修读1-2年后透过衔接计划报读大学课程。

 

技术学院

与学院类似,技术学院或理工学院主要提供证书、文凭、学徒制和持续进修课程,而一些技术学院更有提供应用学位课程。这类学院致力为特定行业如信息科技或工程业界培养人才,学生在技术学院可以学到大量相关行业的知识,对未来发展有莫大帮助。

 

其他加拿大学校种类

 

私立学校

尽管私立学校被当局要求教授与公立学校一样的课程,然而不少家长基于各种原因仍然决定为子女报读私立学校。其中,小班教学、寄宿服务(寄宿学校)、专业体育课程、国际文凭(IB)课程、宗教课程以及为特殊学习需要而设的课程等都是报读私立学校的主要原因。

 

宗教学校

报读宗教学校的最大原因无疑是旨在培养孩子的宗教和文化身份认同,在加拿大较常见的宗教学校为基督教和天主教学校,另外当地亦有伊斯兰教、犹太教和佛教学校。除了一些天主教学校,加拿大的宗教学校并不会受到政府资助(皆因这些学校都是私立学校)。宗教学校会教授一般学校的授课科目,同时亦设有宗教科。虽然一些宗教学校会鼓励学生参与宗教活动和崇拜,不过大部份学校都不会要求学生信奉相关宗教。

 

在家教育

加拿大教育制度列明家长可以选择在家教育其子女,然而不同省份和领地都各自对在家教育都设有一份守则和要求。在大部份省份和领地,家长必须通知当地教育局表明为子女提供在家教育的意向以及提交教育计划。另外,一些省份例如纽芬兰与拉布拉多省以及新斯科舍省更会要求家长提交全年教育进度报告。

 

正在考虑前往加拿大升学?

独自找寻合适的加拿大学校和课程令你感到苦恼?Simard & Associates多年来替无数家庭和申请人办妥各类加拿大移民计划申请,绝对能够助你轻松前往加拿大升学和生活。我们的专业移民顾问律师团队经验丰富,务求令你可以无忧无虑移居加拿大。

Find out what it takes to be eligible for Canadian immigration and begin your clear path to Canada

Contact Us

Schools in Canada: Understanding the Canadian Education System

​​With the announcement of Canada’s New Immigration Measures for Hong Kong Residents, which provides an expedited route to obtaining permanent residency, more and more Hong Kong families and post-secondary students are considering relocating to Canada, known for its high-quality education.

 

An Introduction to Canada’s Education System

In Canada, the laws stipulate that children must receive an education up to the age of 16 or 18 (depending on the province or territory) or until they have received a high school diploma.

Unlike Hong Kong, Canada does not have a federal department of education or a national curriculum. Provincial or territorial governments usually entrust school boards, school divisions, or district education councils to run their own education system and oversee the curriculum. Therefore, although the systems are fairly similar across the country, there are some important differences between provinces. 

Children receive free public education, paid for by taxes, from kindergarten to Grade 12. These years are also known as the K-12 years. With French and English being the official languages of Canada, parents can choose to have their children educated in either language. Similar to Hong Kong, school typically runs from Monday to Friday and the school year is from around late August or early September to the end of June.

Generally speaking, Canada’s education system can be divided into three phases: Primary (Elementary), Secondary and Post-Secondary. Grade structure varies province from province, and may even differ between school districts within a province. For example, some school districts include kindergarten until grades 7 to 8 in their elementary school system. While in other districts, kindergarten can be split into junior kindergarten (JK) and senior kindergarten (SK). This is why it is best to learn about the organization of grades at the website of each district’s school board. 

Here’s a general guide to the types of schools in Canada:

 

Pre-Elementary

Preschool

Although preschool is optional in Canada, it is still rather prevalent for very young children to attend preschool before elementary school. However, preschools and daycare are not included in the free public education system.

 

Primary (or Elementary) School

In Canada, children under the age of 5 are not required to go to school. Elementary schooling includes kindergarten and grade 1 to 6 (some school districts include grade 7 and 8). It is generally for children aged 5 to 12 years. 

 

Kindergarten

Formal schooling in Canada begins with kindergarten with children starting as early as the age of 4. Unlike preschool, kindergarten is mandatory in some provinces. 

 

Primary School

Sometimes also called grade school or elementary school, Canada’s primary school refers to grade 1 to 6 or 8. Primary curriculum typically covers areas of the Arts, Language, Mathematics, Science and Technology, Social Studies, Physical Education and, in some English language schools, French as a second language, which prepares students for further education in middle and high school.

 

Intermediate (or Middle) School

Junior High School

Junior high school or middle school is the intermediate education that runs from grade 7 to 8. Some provinces like Quebec regard grades 7 and 8 as part of secondary education, while others call it the middle school or junior high school years. Middle schools can either be a stand-alone school or part of a bigger school. 

 

Secondary (or High) School

High School

High schools in Canada run from grade 9 to grade 12 in most provinces. The high school curriculum focuses on preparing students for post-education education. While there are plenty of good high schools in the Canadian public education system, many parents may still consider sending children to private schools due to the offering of advanced study programmes. These programmes connect high school students to post-secondary education by offering university-level classes and exams while still in high school.

 

Post-Secondary Education

Unlike other countries or regions, colleges and universities are considered different types of schools in Canada and cannot be used interchangeably. Colleges emphasize career training while universities programmes are more academic or professional-focused.

 

Universities

Canada is home to some of the top-ranking universities in the world, such as the University of Toronto and the University of British Columbia. Universities offer undergraduate, graduate and postgraduate studies that focus on academic programmes such as history and arts and professional programmes such as law and engineering. Most bachelor’s degrees take 3 to 4 years, with some programmes taking up to 5 years. Although university tuition is not free (even for Canadian permanent residents), most universities offer a number of scholarships and subsidies for eligible students. 

 

Colleges

Colleges in Canada mostly offer part-time or full-time certificate and diploma programmes that last 1 to 3 years. These programmes provide students with hands-on, vocational training in applied fields such as applied arts, technology, trades, languages and military. Some community colleges offer university transfer programmes where students can apply to a university programme upon finishing the first two years of study at the community college.

 

Technical Institutes

Similar to colleges, technical institutes, or polytechnics, offer certificate, diploma, apprenticeship and continuing education programmes, with some also offering applied degree programmes. These institutions are often dedicated to a particular industry such as IT or Engineering, where students receive a wealth of industry knowledge during the course of study. 

 

Other Types of Schooling in Canada

Private Schools

Private schools are required to deliver the same curriculum as those in the public system. However, parents may decide to enrol their children in private schools for various reasons. For example, a smaller class size, on-site accommodation (boarding schools), specialized sports programmes, international baccalaureate (IB) programme, religious programmes or programmes for students with various learning needs.

 

Religious Schools

One of the major reasons for sending children to religious schools is to develop a religious or cultural identity in the next generation. Christian and Catholic schools are the most common religious schools in Canada. However, there are also Islamic, Jewish and Buddhist schools. With the exception of some Catholic schools, other faith/religious-based schools in Canada do not receive government funding (i.e. they are private schools). These schools teach subjects that are taught in non-religious schools as well as religious subjects. While some schools may engage students in religious practices and rituals, most don’t even require students to belong to or practice the religion.

 

At-Home Education

Under the Canadian education system, parents can choose to homeschool their children in Canada. However, each province and territory has its own set of regulations and requirements regarding homeschooling. In most provinces and territories, families are required to notify their local school board about their intent and submit an educational plan. Additionally, some provinces like Newfoundland & Labrador and Nova Scotia require the submission of progress reports throughout the year.

 

Considering a Canadian Education?

Finding the right school or programme alone can be an overwhelming process. Make the move to Canada a breeze with Simard & Associates. Our team of immigration specialists and lawyers share years of experience and expertise in helping families and individuals with various Canadian immigration programmes so that you can focus on what matters most.