了解获得加拿大移民资格所需的条件,并开始通往加拿大的途径

Contact Us

带宠物移民加拿大只是一个简单的过程。与人类主人移民一样,宠物移民加拿大需要达到当地的入境要求,并获得指定的文件。虽然个人宠物不需要申请入境许可证,但主人需要确保宠物符合当地的特定要求。以下是携带宠物移民加拿大的注意事项!

 

宠物移民加拿大前须知

为宠物植入微型芯片

在移民加拿大之前,家养宠物不需要为识别目的而植入微型芯片或纹上识别号码。虽然家养宠物获得豁免,但不少主人会在移民前为宠物植入芯片,并加载他们的联系方式,以防止宠物在移民过程中走失。

如果你想带一只0至8个月大的狗移民加拿大,用作零售、繁殖、展示或展览、科学研究、收养或特殊训练用途,你必须为牠植入芯片。

 

为宠物接种疫苗

加拿大要求所有动物在入境前的12个月内接种狂犬病疫苗。为了向加拿大当局提供相关记录,你需要准备一份英文或法文疫苗接种证书,证书须列出签发日期、签发证书的持牌兽医的姓名及签名。另外,证书亦须要仔细列出宠物的资料,包括年龄、性别、品种、颜色或身体标记、体重及微型芯片编号,以帮助加拿大当局识别动物。同时,证书上需要明确指出动物接种疫苗的日期、疫苗制造商、疫苗序列号及免疫期限。

 

为宠物取得健康证明

你必须在你与你的宠物抵达加拿大前10天内,收到香港渔农自然护理署颁发的动物健康证书。同时,在移民加拿大之前,你必须为你的宠物安排一次详细的健康检查,以确保你的宠物适合接种入境所需的疫苗及乘坐长途飞机。值得注意的是,从香港飞往加拿大的长途旅程可能会为你的宠物带来身体及情绪上的不适。

 

与你的宠物一起乘坐飞机

在香港飞往加大拿的航班上,一些航空公司,例如加拿大航空,欢迎宠物猫狗进入座舱及行李舱,而一般宠物机票大约是100加币。根据宠物的年龄或品种,主人可以选择安排宠物乘坐商务航班的客舱或行李舱。

 

在整个飞行过程中,宠物通常需要待在笼子中,因此选择合适的笼子可以确保你的宠物旅途舒适。请向你选择乘坐的航空公司查询,了解有关宠物笼子的具体要求。以加拿大航空为例,宠物主人可以携带的最大硬边笼子的尺寸是23厘米(高)x 40厘米(宽)x 55厘米(长),而最大软边笼子是27厘米(高)x 40厘米(宽)x 55厘米(长)。如果你的宠物无法放入上述尺寸的笼子中,同时无法舒适地躺下、转身及站立,我们建议你可以安排宠物乘坐行李舱。

 

抵达加拿大须知

当你带着宠物抵达加拿大时,加拿大边境服务局的工作人员会检查你的宠物及你为宠物准备的文件。如果工作人员发现你没有为你的宠物进行申报或准备必要的证明文件,同时怀疑你的宠物生病或以不人道方式运往加拿大,他们有权拒绝你的宠物入境,甚至没收或扣留你的宠物。

 

为宠物预留额外费用

如果加拿大边境服务局认为你的宠物需要兽医指导或护理,当局可以将你的宠物转介给加拿大食品检验局进行更详细的检查。所以,作为主人,你需要预留一些额外费用为你的宠物进行检测及隔离。

另外,有些宠物主人会想选择专业的宠物移民服务,让自己可以更加安心。不过,这些公司的收费可能会因应服务范围而有很大差异。

 

宠物移民常见问题

  • 我可以携带宠物食品吗?

加拿大食品检验局负责监管宠物食品及零食进口,以防止动物疾病传入加拿大。当局表表,禁止个人从美国境外进口宠物食品。不过,旅客可以根据以下要求携带宠物食品入境:

– 宠物食品是20公斤或以下

– 宠物食品或产品必须在美国生产,并采用商业包装设计

– 宠物食品或产品必须在旅客从美国入境时持有

– 需要食用进口产品的动物必须在入境时与旅客同行

– 进口产品只喂给与旅客同行入境的动物

 

  • 我可以带野生动物到加拿大吗?

可以。蜥蜴、鹦鹉、乌龟及蛇等野生动物可以入境。不过,野生动物的所有权是通过一个许可制度控制。所以,请宠物主人检查您的宠物是否属于《濒危野生动植物种国际贸易公约》(CITES)以及相应入境要求中列出的物种。

 

  • 如果我不能与我的宠物乘坐同一班航班,我可以怎么办?

如果你与你的宠物不能乘坐同一班航班,你可以考虑让你的宠物乘坐另一班货运航班。不过,你只能通过授权代理来预订机票。

 

  • 如果我的宠物不能接种疫苗,会有甚么后果?

如果你持有书面文件证明你的宠物不能接种狂犬病疫苗,你需要提交给加拿大国家许可中心以获得豁免。请注意,如果你的宠物只是年老且没有任何医疗记录证明,则不接受豁免。

 

有关宠物移民的信息,可以查看加拿大边境服务局的网站

 

正在考虑移民加拿大?

Simard & Associates的专业移民顾问团队多年来帮助无数家庭移民加拿大。我们就各种加拿大移民计划提供专业咨询,包括新设立的开放式工作签证(Open Work Permit)、创业家签证计划(Start-Up Visa)及家庭团聚签证(Family Sponsorship Visa)。立即联络我们了解更多,让我们帮助你实现你的移民梦想。

Find out what it takes to be eligible for Canadian immigration and begin your clear path to Canada

Contact Us

When it comes to bringing your pets to Canada, it is a relatively straightforward process. As with human immigration, pet immigration also requires meeting certain requirements and obtaining the necessary paperwork. While personal pet dogs and cats are exempt from import permits, there are specific requirements that pet owners must ensure their animals meet. Here’s a general guide to Canada’s pet immigration regulations. 

 

Prior to Travelling to Canada

Pet microchip implants 

Domestic dogs and cats imported to Canada as personal pets are not required to be microchipped or tattooed for identification purposes. Despite the exemption, many owners still choose to microchip their pets and register their contact details prior to travelling in case the pet is lost or separated during the journey.

If you have a dog under 8 months old which you would like to bring to Canada for retail sale, breeding purposes, show or exhibition, scientific research, adoption, or have special training status, it must be microchipped.

 

Pet vaccines

Canada requires all animals entering the country to be rabies vaccinated within the last 12 months, with records to prove. You will need to provide a rabies vaccination certificate written in English or French that is issued and signed by a licensed veterinarian. The certificate must include the veterinarian’s name, signature and the date that the certificate was signed. Other information include details that can help identify the animal, such as the animal’s age, sex, breed, colours or markings, weight, and/or microchip number if applicable. It should also clearly indicate the date of vaccination, the trade name and serial number of the licensed vaccine, and the duration of immunity.

 

Health Certificate

An animal health certificate issued within 10 days of your arrival in Canada and endorsed by the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department should be obtained prior to your trip. It is always a good idea to arrange a thorough health check-up for your pet to make sure it is suitable for the vaccination(s) required and fit to travel, especially long journeys like flying from Hong Kong to Canada which can take a toll on the animal physically and emotionally.

 

Flying With Your Pet

Airlines like Air Canada, for instance, welcome cats and dogs in the cabin and the baggage compartment in some of their commercial flights from Hong Kong to Canada at a fee of around CAD100. Based on specific requirements like the age or species of the animal, owners may choose to fly their pets in the cabin or the baggage compartment on a commercial flight.

Pets are typically required to remain in their carriers during the flight, so choosing the right pet carrier will ensure your furry pal travels safely and comfortably. Check with the airline for specific regulations or requirements on the size of the carrier, especially for pets travelling in the cabin. Take Air Canada as an example, the maximum pet carrier size allowed in the cabin (H)23cm x (W)40cm x (L)55cm for hard-sided carriers and (H)27cm x (W)40cm x (L)55cm for soft-sided carriers. A pet that cannot fit into or comfortably lie down, turn around and stand in its natural position in the mentioned size will be required to travel in the baggage compartment.

 

Arriving at the Canadian Border

Once your pet has arrived at the Canadian border, the Canada Border Services Agency officers will inspect the animal and the required documentation. The officers have the right to refuse entry, confiscate or detain the animal if the animal is undeclared, missing necessary permits, certificates or other documents, suspected of sickness or infection, or was transported in an inhumane way.

 

Additional Fees

Canada Border Services Agency may refer any animals arriving at the border for secondary inspection by the Canadian Food Inspection Agency when veterinary guidance or expertise is considered necessary. Some additional costs owners may need to anticipate include testing and quarantine for pets that do not meet the necessary requirements.

Additionally, some owners may prefer the help of professional pet relocation services to give themselves a hassle-free experience and peace of mind. Costs of these pet relocation companies can vary greatly depending on the scope of their service.

 

Pet Relocation Q&A

  • Can I bring my own pet food?

The Canadian Food Inspection Agency regulates pet food and pet treats imports to prevent the introduction of animal diseases into Canada. Personal imports of pet food from countries other than the United States are prohibited. However, travellers may bring a personal import of pet food upon meeting the following requirements:

– It is equivalent to or less than the maximum limit of 20kg

– The pet food or product must be of United States origin and be commercially packaged

– The pet food or product must be in possession of the traveller at the time of entry from the U.S.

– The animal that will eat the imported product must accompany the traveller at the time of entry

– The imported product is fed only to the animal that accompanied the traveller into Canada

 

  • Can I bring exotic pets to Canada?

Yes, exotic pets such as lizards, parrots, turtles and snakes can be imported into Canada. However, exotic pet ownerships are controlled through a permit system. Be sure to check whether your pet is a species listed under the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Flora and Fauna (CITES) and the respective import regulations and requirements.

 

  • What if my pet cannot travel with me?

If, for certain reason, the pet and the owner cannot travel on the same flight, the alternative is shipping the animal on a cargo flight. However, this often requires booking through an authorized agent.

 

  • What happens if my pet cannot get vaccinated?

Exemption may be granted if there is a documented medical reason why the animal cannot be vaccinated against rabies. A written request for exemption, supported by required documentation, must be made to the National Centre for Permissions. Note that old age, without other medical reasons, cannot be accepted for exemption.

For more information, please visit the Canada Border Services Agency website.

 

Moving to Canada?

Our team of immigration specialists at Simard & Associates has helped numerous families relocate to Canada. We offer professional consultations for various Canadian immigration programs such as the new Open Work Permit for Hong Kong Residents, Start-up Visa Program and the Canada Family Sponsorship Visa. Get in touch with us today to see how we can help you realize your immigration dream.