了解獲得加拿大移民資格所需的條件,並開始通往加拿大的途徑

Contact Us

【加拿大讀書移民攻略】加拿大留學熱門學校入學要求及各項須知!

加拿大向來是不少香港學生心儀的海外留學國家,而近年前往加拿大留學的趨勢更有所上升。加拿大當地不但擁有世界一流的大學,而且學費相宜,加上辦理學生簽證過程簡單,絕對是理想的海外升學目的地。加拿大進步包容的社會環境、高水平的生活質素以及容許海外學生在留學時期工作,無疑吸引更多香港學生前往當地留學。海外學生在完成學業後更可以直接申請畢業後工作簽證,藉此繼續留在當地生活和發展。

加拿大不少城市一向都被視為全球最佳海外留學目的地,前往當地留學生活絕對不難適應。假如你還未能決定報讀加拿大的哪一間大學,下文將會為你帶來加拿大三大熱門大學簡介,助你選擇最適合自己的學府。

 

1. 多倫多大學(University of Toronto)

多倫多大學是加拿大的頂尖學府,該校的教學和學術研究水平均相當之高。多倫多大學設有三個校區,分別位於聖喬治(St. George)、密西沙加(Mississauga)和士嘉堡(Scarborough),為學生帶來舒適怡人的學習和生活環境。多倫多大學的校園生活環境一流,而且更是全球其中一間以學術研究而聞名的學府,在2020年世界大學學術排名以及2021年QS世界大學排名分別位列第23和第25。近年多倫多大學招收不少海外學生,2019-2020秋季入學的總入學人數為90,077,其中海外學生就多達23,019名,他們分別來自159個國家和地區,佔總人數約25%,相信香港學生絕對可以適應這裡的校園生活。

多倫多大學設有超過700個本科課程和200個研究生課程,能夠讓你輕鬆選擇到適合自己喜好和職業路徑的課程,在諄諄教導下奪取佳績。假如你對醫學感興趣,相信你會對多倫多大學在2020年全球學科排名中的成績讚嘆不已,該校的醫療技術學科在2020年全球學科排名高踞全球第4,公共衛生學科位列第12、藥物科學學科名列第13以及在臨床醫學學科排名第15。除此之外,多倫多大學的其他學科在2020年全球學科排名中亦名列前茅,就好像計算機科學與工程學科名列第9、自動化工程學排行第4、統計學排名第10、心理學位居第8以及經濟學位列第18,可見多倫多大學毫無疑問是國際學術研究和教學的翹楚。

 

2. 不列顛哥倫比亞大學 (University of British Columbia)

不列顛哥倫比亞大學一直是世界前20名公立大學,亦是享負盛名的教學和研究中心,該校的課程如電訊工程、地理學、生態學和交通科學與技術均在2020年全球學術排名中位列首20名。不列顛哥倫比亞大學設有超過250個本科課程以及300個研究生課程,學生可因應其喜好和能力選擇相應課程。另外,該校擁有超過2000名研究生導師,讓研究生可以獲得不同的專業指導。研究生更可自行設計個人課程,使課程更適合符合自身需要。

不列顛哥倫比亞大學在溫哥華和歐肯納根均設有校區,崇尚多元文化以及包容的校園環境絕對能夠讓香港學生安心前往加拿大入讀。最近,不列顛哥倫比亞大學更被泰晤士高等教育評為全北美最國際化大學,該校總入學人數為66,512,當中有18,283名來自166個不同國家的學生,佔總人數的大約27%。憑藉卓越的學術水平、以學生為中心的教學環境、現代化的設施和優秀的地理位置,不列顛哥倫比亞大學因而每年都吸引無數海外學生慕名報讀。

 

3. 麥基爾大學 (McGill University)

 

麥基爾大學致力提升學校和學生的競爭力,並專注於學術研究。自1821年創立至今,該校一直以教學、創新和研究聞名。在加拿大權威雜誌麥克林2021年的大學排名中,麥基爾大學連續第16年被評為當地最佳醫科大學,該校的醫學與健康科學學院不但是加拿大最古老的醫學院,更是當地鼎鼎大名的醫學院。此外,麥基爾大學的各個工程學課程亦在全球學科排名中位居前列。高水準的教學結合麥基爾大學的國際關係網絡,學生在完成學業後定能創一番佳績。

與多倫多大學和不列顛哥倫比亞大學比較,麥基爾大學的校園面積相對較小。座落於蒙特利爾的麥基爾大學雖然校園面積不大,然而周邊風景優美,學習環境一流。麥基爾大學上學年的總入學人數為39,736,當中海外學生的比例佔32%。由於海外學生在麥基爾大學佔有一定比例,故此該校提供一系列特別為海外學生而設的諮詢和支援服務,讓他們縱使身處異國仍有家的感覺。

 

報名須知

前往加拿大留學的申請條件因應你所報讀的學校和課程所需而異,然而無論你報讀當地哪一間大學,合格的英語水平、證明擁有足夠應付當地生活的經濟能力和有效而未過期的護照都是必要的基本申請條件。

 

加拿大最新的讀書移民計劃

眾所週知,香港學生在前往加拿大留學之先必須申請學生簽證。然而,加拿大政府在2021年初向打算申請學生簽證的特區護照和英國國民(海外)護照持有人發出公告,表明將會優先處理他們的學生簽證申請,更容許申請人免簽證和可以申請電子旅行證前往加拿大。此公告與其他專為香港居民而設的移民新政策如​​開放性工作許可計劃一同公佈,旨在為香港留學生提供一條專屬途徑,好讓他們在當地畢業後申請永久居留。

 

在辦理簽證申請的過程中遇到困難?

辦理簽證或申請移民的過程中有時候會遇上不同困難,如複雜的條文和費時的文書處理。假如你想更快捷輕鬆辦妥申請,Simard & Associates可以幫到你。作為一間專業的移民顧問公司,我們致力為客戶辦理各種簽證和移民申請,讓客戶能夠移民到心儀國家生活。想在辦理移民申請的過程中從頭到尾都暢順無阻?立即與我們聯絡吧!

Find out what it takes to be eligible for Canadian immigration and begin your clear path to Canada

Contact Us

Studying in Canada: Universities, Programs & Rankings

Studying in Canada has become an increasingly popular choice for Hong Kong students. With world-class universities to select from, a simple student visa process and affordable tuition fees, universities in Canada seem like the perfect avenue for further study. The progressive and inclusive environment that Canada is known for, high quality of life, and the fact that students are able to study and work at the same time are just some extra benefits that solidify the decision for Hongkongers looking to study abroad. A convenient post-graduate work permit means that after students complete their studies, they can continue living in Canada to develop their skills.

Enjoy life in some of the top student-friendly cities in the world when studying in Canada. If you cannot decide which university to apply for, here is a quick snapshot of the top 3 universities in Canada

 

1. University of Toronto

The University of Toronto, or U of T, has established itself as one of Canada’s leading institutions of learning and discovery. It has three campuses: St. George, Mississauga, and Scarborough. Ranked 23rd in the 2020 Academic Ranking of World Universities and 25th in the QS World Universities Rankings 2021, the University of Toronto boasts not only high-quality education as one of the world’s most research-intensive universities but also a welcoming and enjoyable student life environment. Hongkongers may have an easier transition with its high international population; out of the 90,077 students enrolled in Fall 2019 – 2020, there were 23,019 international students from 159 countries and regions. 

With over 700 undergraduate and 200 graduate programs at the University of Toronto, you can easily choose and excel in a program that fits your interest and career path. For those interested in the medical field, you might be impressed to know that the University of Toronto placed 4th for Medical Technology, 12th for Public Health, 13th for Pharmaceutical Sciences, and 15th for Clinical Medicine in the Global Ranking of Academic Subjects 2020. Other global rankings to note include placing 9th for Computer Science and Engineering, 4th for Automation and Control, 10th for Statistics, 8th for Psychology, and 18th for Finance. With these rankings, it is obvious that the University of Toronto is a global leader in research and teaching. 

 

2. University of British Columbia 

As a global centre for teaching, learning, and research, the University of British Columbia (UBC) has consistently ranked among the top 20 public universities in the world. Some programs like Telecommunication Engineering, Geography, Ecology, and Transportation Science and Technology, were all placed within the top 20 Global Ranking of Academic Subjects 2020. Choose from over 250 undergraduate and 300 graduate degree options. With over 2,000 research supervisors, graduate students can even design their own program. 

The University of British Columbia has two campuses, one in Vancouver and another in the Okanagan Valley. Hong Kong students can rest assured with their move to Canada when studying at the University of British Columbia because of its highly inclusive and intercultural environment. It was most recently recognized as North American’s most international university by Times Higher Education. Out of the 66,512 students enrolled, 18,283 were international students from 166 countries around the world. The academic excellence, student-centred learning environment, modern facilities and fantastic location attracts students from around the world every year. 

 

3. McGill University

McGill University prides itself as a competitive and research-intensive university. Since its founding in 1821, McGill University has become well-known for its teaching, innovation and research. It was rated number one among medical-doctoral universities in Canada for 16 consecutive years, according to Maclean’s University Rankings 2021. The Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences at McGill University is the oldest and best-known medical school in Canada. Its various engineering programs are also rated high in global subject ratings. Combined with the university’s international network, students can thrive beyond the years of study. 

Compared to the other two universities, McGill University is much smaller. A total of 39,736 students were enrolled last academic year, of which 32% of students were international. Because of the significant percentage of international students, McGill University offers a range of advising and services specifically for international students to help them feel more at ease and at home. Located in the stunning city of Montreal, McGill University provides a beautiful and relaxing backdrop to quality education. 

 

Application Overview

Requirements to enter universities in Canada depend on the specific school and program you choose to study. The most basic requirement that all universities are likely to have included a certain level of English proficiency, evidence that you can support yourself financially, and an up-to-date passport. 

 

Canada’s New Study Permit Immigration Program

Before starting your semester and studying in Canada, Hong Kong students must apply for a study permit. Canada has also just made an announcement for HKSAR and BNO passport holders looking to apply for a study permit at the beginning of 2021. With the new scheme, priority processing will be given to all study permit applications received from HKSAR and BNO passport holders. They will also be visa-exempt and can apply for an electronic travel authorization should they wish to come to Canada. This announcement was made in conjunction with other immigration initiatives for Hongkongers, like the new Open Work Permit Program, which provides students with a dedicated pathway to permanent residency upon finishing their studies. 

 

Need help with your visa application?

Applying for immigration programs can sometimes be complicated and time-consuming. Make the process faster and stress-free with Simard & Associates. As a professional immigration consulting service, we are dedicated to helping clients like you immigrate to other countries. Get in touch today for a smooth and seamless immigration process from start to finish.