了解获得加拿大移民资格所需的条件,并开始通往加拿大的途径

Contact Us

【海外搬屋攻略】移居外地必看!移民搬屋有什么需要注意?

随着不少国家都设立或推出新政策以吸引海外移民,移居海外变得越来越容易。在决定好移居国家后,便要考虑如何把物品运送海外。我们特地准备了几个海外搬屋贴士,让你的移民搬屋过程更加顺利!

 

1)  搬运方法

决定移居海外后,首要考虑的是如何搬运所需物品。海外搬屋的方法主要有两种,一种是海运,另一种则是空运。前者收费较便宜,亦较多人采用,而后者收费则较昂贵,对于行李重量亦有一定限制,但运送速度较快。你可视乎进度来决定运送方法。

无论采取哪个方法,你都可考虑雇用国际搬运公司,因为他们会安排货柜运送,确保物品直接送抵你的家门。当货柜装满后,搬运公司便会提取货柜,将之运往港口,再运往目的地。至于雇用搬运公司的最大好处,便是有专人为你处理繁琐的清关文件,无需担心出现物品被海关扣押的情况。

 

2)  税项和额外费用

视乎你的移居目的地,你或需要为特定家居物品缴付关税。比较寛容的国家会免除关税,较严格的国家则会计算所有物品的价值,再决定你需要额外缴付的税项。值得留意的是,一般国际搬运公司在报价时都不会包含税款,因此索取报价时,建议先向他们查询移居国家的估计税收,以了解确实收费。

 

3)  购买保险

所谓「天有不测之风云」,物品在移送的过程中或会受到环境因素影响而出现损毁,这种情况在海运尤其常见。想更好地保障自己?你可考虑在运送前购买保险。在聘用国际运输公司前,可先向他们查询报价是否包括保险费用,因为有些公司的初期收费中并不包括保险费用,有些则只提供基本保障。视乎你的物品价值,你可考虑额外付款以获取更多保障,或另外购买一份保障范围更全面的保险。

 

4)  禁运或受管制物品

在把物品运送海外前,你需要确保运送物品内没有任何违禁品或受管制物品,例如药物、武器、特定植物、动物产品和海外食物等,以免被收取罚款。有些国家会订立相关规定以确保旅客安全,以及减低外来物种对于当地生态和产业的威胁,而相关规则则会视乎国家而有所不同,因此宜事前清楚了解相关规定。

 

5)  包装物料

移居海外时,使用合适的包装物料来运送物品可让你免却不少烦恼。许多国际搬运公司大多会提供这方面的服务,因为运送货柜需要通过海关检查,而运送者有责任担保货柜内没有任何违禁品,所以搬运公司在包装物品方面都会亲力亲为,并会提供工业用的收缩包装、纸皮箱和其他运输用物料,确保客户的物品在运送过程中得到全面保护。

 

移民搬屋或许是一项艰巨任务,但这也只是整个移民计划的一部份,无需过份忧虑。想轻松实现移民梦?让Simard & Associates助你一臂之力,我们的专业顾问团队由经验丰富的移民律师、顾问和环球移民专家组成,致力为你解答各种移民疑问,同时提供最全面的支持和指引。马上与我们联络,获取属于你的移民方案!

Find out what it takes to be eligible for Canadian immigration and begin your clear path to Canada

Contact Us

Relocating Overseas: Things to Know Before Moving Internationally

Relocating and moving overseas has become increasingly easier. We are gaining access to countries across the world with existing and new immigration programmes designed to attract those looking to live and move overseas. Choosing and determining where to relocate to is the big step. 

Now that you have made that commitment to relocate, there are a few things that you need to consider to make sure that there are no unexpected surprises during that move. Enjoy a stress-free relocation experience with these tips.

 

1. Moving method

First things first, decide how you are going to move your items from one country to another. There are two main methods of transporting your goods. The most common and cost-efficient way is via sea freight. A much more expensive option is by air freight. Although it is more expensive and has a limitation on the weight of baggage, it is considerably faster than by sea. Choosing which method to use will depend much on your timeline. 

For both methods, you can hire an international moving company who will arrange containers to be sent to your home. Once the containers are loaded up, they will be picked up and taken to the port for the next stage of transport. The best thing about hiring a moving company is that they tend to deal with all the custom clearance documents so that you do not have to worry too much about your stuff getting stuck. 

 

2. Taxes and extra fees

Depending on the country you are relocating to, you may have to pay custom duty charges for certain household goods. Some countries are very lenient and offer duty-free policies for those moving internationally. Others have strict policies that calculate the value of all your items to determine the total extra fees you have to pay. When looking at quotes from international moving companies, you may want to ask them for an estimation of taxes for your country of choice since it is rarely included in moving prices. 

 

3. Insurance

Just to have peace of mind that your belongings will arrive in good condition when relocating, you may wish to consider buying insurance. Things may move around during travel and are subject to surrounding environmental conditions. This is especially relevant for those choosing to move their items via the sea. Remember to check with your international moving company if their prices include any insurance. Some may not include it in their initial payments while others may offer only basic insurance coverage. Looking at the value of your items, you may want to pay for extra coverage or buy a separate insurance policy that is much more comprehensive. 

 

4. Prohibited or controlled items

To avoid being fined, make sure that your containers do not include any prohibited or controlled items when moving overseas. These include the obvious ones like drugs and weapons, but also the not so obvious items such as certain plants, animal products, and foreign foods. This is to protect the safety of all travellers and to reduce the threat of introducing new species that can devastate a country’s ecosystem and industries. The exact security rules for entry are different in each country so be sure to do your research before packing. 

 

5. Packing

Last but not least is the packaging in which you will pack your things. The good thing about moving internationally is that, in most cases, you don’t really need to worry about it. International movers tend to offer this as part of their services. This is because your containers have to go through customs when moving overseas. Since the movers have to be able to vouch for the containers and guarantee that it does not contain anything that would be considered illegal, they are very willing to help you with the packing process. Any necessary industrial shrink wrap, cardboard boxes, and other materials needed will usually be provided. 

 


Moving overseas can be a daunting task. But it doesn’t have to be difficult and stressful. Simard and Associates is a professional immigration consultancy that is dedicated to helping our clients immigrate to other countries. Our experienced team of immigration lawyers, consultants, and global immigration experts can help make the immigration process pain-free. Let us help you make that relocation dream a reality. Get in touch today!