了解获得加拿大移民资格所需的条件,并开始通往加拿大的途径

Contact Us

【加拿大移民验身】移民身体检查:加拿大移民体检有什么需要注意?

申请移民加拿大时,加拿大政府或会要求申请人进行移民身体检查,以了解申请人会否对当地公共卫生和公众安全造成影响,从而控制和防止疾病及病毒的散播,确保不会对当地公共医疗和社会服务系统造成负担。

 

加拿大移民身体检查程序

加拿大移民验身程序简单直接,唯申请人不可选择由自己指定的医生来进行体检,以免构成利益冲突。你可从加拿大移民局认可的医生名单中,选择合适的医生来进行体检,而有关名单可在加拿大政府网站找到。体检可在申请移民前或后预约,检查完毕后医生会直接把结果寄到加拿大当局,您只需保留一份副本证明自己已进行移民验身便可。体检结果有效期为12个月,因此你必须确保文件的有效期处于在申请移民的时间范围之内。

若你在申请移民后才接受体检,则必须在收到加拿大政府的信件的30天内完成验身。值得留意的是,当局认可的医生只负责进行身体检查,而加拿大政府才拥有通过与否的最终决定权。

 

加拿大移民身体检查事前准备

进行体检前,你需要准备身份证明文件、过往或现在的身体病况报告、目前正服用的药物清单、医疗报告(如你在预约体检前曾接受检查),以及曾注射新冠肺炎疫苗的证明(如曾接种疫苗)。此外,视乎医生透过哪个平台提交体检结果,你或会被要求提供个人照片。想确保体检当天准备齐全,宜在预约前先联络医生或浏览相关网站,了解所有需要提供的文件。

 

加拿大移民身体检查过程

 

接受体检前,医生会先了解你的病史,内容或会问到你过往和目前的身体情况,以及是否正在服用任何药物,随后便会开始进行身体检查,包括量度和检测体重、身高、听力、视力、血压、心跳,以及心脏、肺部、腹部、四肢和皮肤等。值得留意的是,除非医生认为有必要,否则生殖器官和直肠检查则不在加拿大移民身体检查的要求范围内。

需要接受的检查或会视乎你的年龄而有所不同。医生可能会要求你接受X光或其他检查,亦可能会将你转介至其他专科接受更多其他检查。由于过程需时,因此你需要确保自己可尽快完成所有所需检查,减低轮候时间。

 

加拿大移民身体检查费用

在大多数情况下,标准体检不会有任何额外收费,除非你被转介至其他专科医生,或需要接受慢性疾病或其他特定疾病的检查。确实费用则视乎体检计划和年龄,一般收费为港币500元至3,000元不等。

 

无法通过加拿大移民身体检查的原因

如果你无法通过体检,加拿大政府或会拒绝你的移民申请。无法通过体检的原因有三个:体检结果显示你对公众健康造成威胁、危害公众安全或对医疗或公共服务造成负担。

若体检报告显示你患有具传染性疾病,或与传染性疾病患者有密切接触,从而可能在加拿大境内造成疫情爆发,影响当地居民,当局有机会以「威胁公众健康」为由拒绝你的申请。另外,假如你或会突然丧失身体或精神能力,从而导致无法预料或暴力的行为,则有机会被视为「危害公众公存」而申请受拒。最后,若果你的身体状况或会影响加拿大医疗系统的轮候时间,或你所需的治疗费用超过高度医疗需求的成本门坎(2021年的成本门坎为每年21,798加币),当局有机会认为你会增加当地医疗或公共服务压力而拒绝你的移民申请。

值得留意的是,「对医疗或公共服务造成负担」这一理由不适用于难民及其家属、受保护人士,以及获家庭资助的特定人士。加拿大政府在考虑他们的体检结果时,只会斟酌首两个原因。

 

身体检查只是申请加拿大移民的众多程序之一,想轻松处理费时又繁琐的移民申请?让Simard & Associates助你一臂之力。作为专业移民顾问,我们致力为有意移民加拿大的你提供最全面的支持和指引。马上与我们联络,获取属于你的移民方案,实现移民加拿大的目标!

Find out what it takes to be eligible for Canadian immigration and begin your clear path to Canada

Contact Us

What You Need to Know About Canadian Immigration Medical Examination

As part of the immigration application to Canada, you might be required to get a medical examination. This is to help the Canadian government see how you may affect other people living in Canada in terms of public health and public safety. It is one of the ways the government controls and prevents the spread of infectious diseases and viruses. They also want to make sure that there is no excessive demand for healthcare and social services that may take away from Canadians who need them.

 

What is the process?

Getting a Canadian immigration medical examination is relatively straightforward. Although you cannot use your own doctor due to a conflict of interest, you can choose from a list of approved panel physicians that the government has conveniently provided on their site. Simply make an appointment before or after you apply. You do not need to do anything else as the results will be sent to the government by the physician. Just keep a copy of the document confirming that you have had a medical examination as proof for your Canadian immigration application. The results are valid for 12 months, so make sure that the timeline fits your application timeframe.

If you get the exam after you submit your application, it must be completed within 30 days of receiving the letter from the government. The panel physician does not make the final decision about your medical exam. They just administer the tests for the government to make the decision.

 

What do I need to bring to the appointment?

Bring proper identification, any medical reports or test results for previous or existing medical conditions, a list of your current medications, the Medical Report form (if you are doing the test before the application), and proof of COVID-19 vaccination if you have one. You may also be required to bring photographs, depending on what platform the physician uses to submit the examination results. Be sure to reach out to them or check their website before your appointment to see if you need to bring it with you.

 

What is included in the medical examination?

Upon arrival at your appointment, the doctor will fill out a medical history questionnaire with you. They will ask if you have any previous or existing medical conditions or if you are currently taking any medications. After the medical history questionnaire, you will be required to undergo a physical examination, measuring and checking your weight, height, hearing, vision, blood pressure, pulse, heart, lungs, abdomen, limbs, and skin. Genitals and rectal area checks are not required for the Canadian immigration medical exam unless the doctor believes that it is necessary.

There are other possible tests depending on your age. You may be asked to do chest x-rays or additional laboratory tests. If so, you may be referred to a specialist. Since all of these do take time, you want to ensure that these are completed as soon as possible to reduce the waiting time.

 

How much does it cost?

For most cases, there should be no additional fees on top of the standard examination fees unless you are referred to a specialist or asked to do more tests for chronic disease or other particular diagnoses. The exact costs will depend on the plan and age but can range from HK$500 to HK$3,000.

 

What are the possible reasons for medical inadmissibility?

There is a slight likelihood that the Canadian government refuses your application if you do not meet the medical inadmissibility rules. There are three possible reasons that may occur. If your medical check shows that you are a danger to public health, danger to public safety, or if there will be excessive demand on health or social services, your application may be denied. 

Danger to public health looks into whether you have certain infectious diseases or whether you’ve been in close contact with others with an infectious disease that can cause an outbreak and affect other people living in Canada. If your health condition will endanger public safety due to sudden loss of physical and mental ability, resulting in unpredictable or violent behavior, your application may also be refused. Lastly, excessive demand on health or social services refers to whether your condition will affect wait times in Canada or if your treatment will cost more than the excessive demand cost threshold. In 2021, the cost threshold is CAD21,798 per year. 

There are some exceptions for the medical inadmissibility regarding excessive demand. Refugees and their dependents, protected persons, and certain people being sponsored by their family, only the first two medical inadmissibility reasons are considered.

 

The medical examination is just one component of an immigration application to Canada. The whole application can sometimes be confusing and time-consuming. Avoid the stress and make the whole application process smoother with Simard & Associates. As a professional immigration consulting agency, we provide comprehensive guidance during your application process to Canada. Get in touch today to begin your move to Canada.